Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2008, 02:16 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: So Cal - Inland Empire
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Installing new wall receptacle...


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimmy View Post
This is correct but keep in mind that you'll need to cut the bus connection between the brass screws on the receptacle that will be switched. If you used all four of the screws (i.e. feed-through method), you'll have to pigtail the wiring at the point that you split the receptacle (another reason to simply do it now).

Rereading your answers I just answered my own question. I need to cut the connection in the middle (DUH, I missed this). How does one go about doing this?

jaysen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 03:48 PM   #17
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing new wall receptacle...


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysen View Post
Big Jimmy!
Well I finally did it !
Sweet

Quote:
I hooked up via pigtail - I was not oppose to this method at all, being that I have no idea about electrical work, I was completely open to suggestions. I am just that type of person that wants to know everything. Even the wrong way.
HA, me too!

Quote:
Third;
I wired the existing receptacle box with a new leviton side screw recep. I wired it with one black (gold screw), one white (silver screw), one ground (green) and one red (gold screw). I assumed, and going based off your earlier answer, the existing receptacle would work as it did before. Light switch will control the upper outlet. However, this is not the case. I plugged a lamp into both with the switch in the off position and the lamp turned on regardless of the wall switch.

Why is this ?

- I dont mind that both outlets are always hot so should i remove the red wire from the gold screw and just wire nut it ? Currently it is utilizing a gold screw
Sounds like you figured this out on your own. I thought that you weren't going to split the new recept so I didn't go into much depth. Sorry!

Quote:
Other than that, THANKS AGAIN - You've been a great help!
Glad it worked out for you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysen View Post
Rereading your answers I just answered my own question. I need to cut the connection in the middle (DUH, I missed this). How does one go about doing this?
Pair of dikes/side cutters will do it.
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 07:45 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: So Cal - Inland Empire
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing new wall receptacle...


OK OK OK !! I'm guilty I just can not get enough of this electrical stuff !!!

BigJimmy-
I will try and make this real quick. I'm going to install one more receptacle in the closet where all my new A/V equipment will go. There is a shared wall from the bathroom to the closet where I will be putting this equipment.

It just so happens that there is a GFCI receptacle on the shared wall inside the bathroom. Ideally I would love to pull from that receptacle for the new one only because I would not have to do any patch work and very little fishing...

I talked to someone at work who has some knowledge on this stuff so I wanted to run his answers by you to make certain this was correct;


I was told that when pulling from a GFCI I can pull from either side Load/Line if I am only installing a non-gfci receptacle with no plans to ever pull from there.

It looks like my current GFCI receptacle is in the middle of the run;
There are a total of three lines coming into the box - two of which are pigtailed together and are fed on the Load side (i believe)


Same way in my previous posts and your answers, add a small pigtail and run the new line to the new receptacle ? Any other considerations ? I would try and take pics however my gf has my digi cam!

Thanks!
jaysen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 08:26 PM   #19
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing new wall receptacle...


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysen View Post
OK OK OK !! I'm guilty I just can not get enough of this electrical stuff !!!
Me too. Sometimes I wish that I'd become an electrician instread of an enginerd.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysen View Post
It just so happens that there is a GFCI receptacle on the shared wall inside the bathroom. Ideally I would love to pull from that receptacle for the new one only because I would not have to do any patch work and very little fishing...
Well, I wish I had better news but unfortunately, you cannot tap off of the bathroom receptacle to power something in a different room.

As far as your question about the GFCI (which may or may not be of any interest at this point), you can wire off of either the upstream or downstream side. If you go from the LINE sided, then your additional circuit is not subject to GFCI protection. On the other hand, if you tap off of the LOAD side, then that circuit will be protected by the GFCI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysen View Post
I was told that when pulling from a GFCI I can pull from either side Load/Line if I am only installing a non-gfci receptacle with no plans to ever pull from there.
I'm not sure I understand this part, esp. when you say "...if I am only installing a non-gfci receptacle."

Sorry for the bad news. Time to bust out the drill-a!

Jimmy

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing kitchen wall cabinets higher than spec recommendation? alexz General DIY Discussions 14 07-20-2008 11:32 PM
Raising Doorway Height (load bearing?) treefrog Building & Construction 6 02-25-2008 09:11 PM
Marrying a sloping stone wall to a cinder block wall. mrdol Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 11-09-2007 04:08 PM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 09:47 AM
Help Me.....installing Wall Safe shaw Carpentry 7 10-01-2006 04:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.