Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-14-2011, 02:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 109
Share |
Default

installing new wall plug


Hello Everyone!

I want to install a light in my closet which I will plug my portable cabinet lights (like under the cabinet lights) into.

The existing wall plug on the outside wall is a few inches apart from the place I intend to place the closet plug (inside). When I opened the existing plug, I noticed both the upper and lower connectors are occupied.

I understand I need to remove the metal outlet box and punch a hole in the bottom or side to draw the wires to the new outlet. I saw in my "book" I should pigtail the ground wires, but do I need to pigtail the hot and neutral?

What is the purpose of the bottom hot and neutral on the original plug? Could I have a split circuit? (yes, I've been reading) or is that what you call middle run?

Thanking you in advance.

Last edited by momof2labs; 08-14-2011 at 02:25 PM.
momof2labs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 06:33 PM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

installing new wall plug


If the tabs on the sides of the receptacle that connect the screws together are still intact, then it would be a ‘middle of the run’ as you called it, not a split receptacle. When you have 3 cables in a box, you’ll have to make ‘pigtail’ jumpers (of appropriate colors and wire size) for all 3 colors to attach to the receptacle. The purpose of 2 screws on each side is to allow incoming and outgoing wires to be attached quickly without additional materials. Most of the receptacles in an average house will have an incoming and a outgoing.

Another note, just be sure the receptacle you’re pulling power from isn’t a kitchen, bath or laundry receptacle circuit. Not allowed by code to feed your proposed closet receptacle.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 07:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 109
Talking

installing new wall plug


Thanks, Kyle
I wanted to be sure before I take any steps to change the existing configuration. I have a great respect for electricity ... and rightly so! This circuit is not connected to the kitchen - only lighting. Many thanks for taking the time to read and understand my question.

Donna in Fairfax, VA
momof2labs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adding new wall plug


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing French Doors in Existing Exterior Wall Aarons Windows and Doors 11 08-08-2011 01:32 AM
How to diagnose problems with wall kahlan General DIY Discussions 5 10-22-2008 09:18 AM
Plug comes out of wall jackiesmom Electrical 2 05-30-2007 10:08 PM
Running Electical plug behind wall burdman Electrical 2 04-20-2007 10:15 AM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.