Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE) - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2008, 01:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


My laundry room had only a bulb with a plastic diffuser and a pull chain. I have installed a nice fixture, however, the fixture needs a switch. The box that the origianl bulb was wired from has only a black and white wire (rather old wire, I might add) and I purchased regulation wire (one white, one black and a ground).

The switch has the black screw, copper screw and ground screw. I am at a complete loss, as I have tried to wire the switch from the old box only connected to the new fixture with a line running to the switch. (light is always on and breaker blows when I turn light off).

The second configuration I tried, which I thought was correct; wire from exsisting box to the switch and then back to the new fixture. The only way I could see this working was to put both white, both black and both ground wires on each of their respective screws. This caused a similar issue with the circuit breaker.

I'm open and willing to take any suggestions to make this work, including but not limited to starting from scratch. I know there must be a simple solution can anyone help?? I've obviously missed something here ...

Advertisement

Light Out on Hillsboro Be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 07:47 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


If you have installed a new switch in the wall connect Black feed wire in light box to the black wire to the switch and the white wire to the other side of the switch to the light.The white wire in the light box hooks directly to the light. All you are doing is breaking the "hot" wire to the light. The ground wire is useless if there is no ground in the feeds to the light.

Advertisement

BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 10:47 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyD View Post
If you have installed a new switch in the wall connect Black feed wire in light box to the black wire to the switch and the white wire to the other side of the switch to the light.The white wire in the light box hooks directly to the light. All you are doing is breaking the "hot" wire to the light. The ground wire is useless if there is no ground in the feeds to the light.
Not right!

Connect the black wire in the ceiling to the white wire(and mark this with a piece of black tape) that goes to the switch. From the other side of the switch, connect the black wire to the black wire on the light fixture, and connect the white wire in the ceiling to the white wire of the fixture.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 02:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


It is right. He did not ask about code he ask to hook up a switch and what I told him will work. If you want to train them to be an electrician then explain that the current carrying conductors need to be marked with colored tape (not just black) and that the romex has to be stapled, if it is a metal box it must be bonded, etc. Life is getting to complicated. Make it simple if possible.
BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 03:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyD View Post
It is right. He did not ask about code he ask to hook up a switch and what I told him will work. If you want to train them to be an electrician then explain that the current carrying conductors need to be marked with colored tape (not just black) and that the romex has to be stapled, if it is a metal box it must be bonded, etc. Life is getting to complicated. Make it simple if possible.
What color would you use for a switch leg?
Romex when fished through walls and ceilings not accessible require no support.
If it is a metal box feed with romex you ground the box and the device (EGC), not bond it.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 04:20 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,394
Rewards Points: 2,450
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


Black is your switched leg, but if you are adding a switch, it is going to be what Electricians call a "Suicide Switch". In other words, you will take the White leg on the Romex, and connect to one side of the Switch, then the Black to the other. At the Light, connect the Black leg from the Romex going to the Switch on the screw, then the White Leg, which has the Black Electricians tape on it so that the next "dummy" knows that it is Black, to the Black leg coming from the Romex going back to the Power Panel.

As for Asthetics, you can use Conduit, or Flat Electric channel to cover up the Romex from damage, along with a box that matches.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 09:54 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyD View Post
It is right. He did not ask about code he ask to hook up a switch and what I told him will work. If you want to train them to be an electrician then explain that the current carrying conductors need to be marked with colored tape (not just black) and that the romex has to be stapled, if it is a metal box it must be bonded, etc. Life is getting to complicated. Make it simple if possible.
It is very simple to do it correctly. Just as simple as doing it wrong. The problem with doing it the way you explained, is there would be two white wires connected to the light fixture and in the future someone may connect them incorrectly to make the screw shell hot. Doing the job the correct way, as jbfan laid out, gives you a black hot and a white neutral connected to the fixture. Also, inside the fixture box, a person in the future will clearly see a back wire connected to a white wire, a good indication that the white wire is being used as a hot wire whether it is taped or not.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 09:56 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Black is your switched leg, but if you are adding a switch, it is going to be what Electricians call a "Suicide Switch".
All the electricians I know call it a switch leg.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:48 PM   #9
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


or 'switch loop'


but all the same, power to the switch is supposed to be the white
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:06 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
or 'switch loop'


but all the same, power to the switch is supposed to be the white

After 4 years it is the same!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:27 PM   #11
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Installing New Light Switch (NOT REPLACING AN EXSISTING ONE)


okay i need to start ignoring that similar threads deal down at the bottom wow

Advertisement

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical , installing light switch , new wiring


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a ceiling fan with a light switch. Unregistered Electrical 9 08-23-2011 04:36 AM
Adding one recessed light to exsisting switch... JayBird Electrical 1 04-03-2008 08:32 PM
replacing light switch in bathroom cooper Electrical 3 02-22-2007 06:05 AM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 07:02 AM
installing a light fixture on a switch controlled outlet Unregistered Electrical 1 02-24-2004 11:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts