Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2008, 04:00 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 161
Share |
Default

Installing new circuit in panel - DIY?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
Curls, a picture is worth a thousand words. Can you snap a few?

Just to be clear, do you have 1 double pole breaker (2 100AMP breakers tied together) or 2 double pole 100AMP breakers (4 total, 2 pairs tied together)?
I'll get some pics tonight.
curls00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 08:01 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 161
Default

Installing new circuit in panel - DIY?


Sorry guys, i was way too busy last night to think about snapping a few pics. Although, I think I might wait on adding the new circuit until my friends' dad can come over to help and/or do it for me. He's an electrician, but doesn't have much time to do sidejobs. In the meantime I'll probably run a short extension cord of appropriate rating, from the washing machine outlet just across the room (about 6-8' max). Nothing else is on that circuit so if the washing machine or vacuum do not turn on, it would be immediately noticed, and not spoil food or let the water in the tank get cool.
curls00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 01:02 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

Installing new circuit in panel - DIY?


Quote:
Originally Posted by curls00 View Post
That's what I thought when I looked at it last night. Quite sure it is. So a double-100 (double pole breaker) = 100A service. 2 of those double pole breakers would be 200A service?
No, a 200A service would have a 200A double-pole breaker.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 02:16 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 161
Default

Installing new circuit in panel - DIY?


aah, makes sense, thanks Nate.

Cheers.
Eric
curls00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a 220volt circuit breaker. luweee Electrical 16 01-11-2008 07:59 AM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
advice on installing equipment grounding bar in main panel pacifier1er Electrical 5 05-29-2007 05:55 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.