Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2012, 07:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing New 200amp Service Meter Socket/Main Breaker


I am getting ready to change the service on the house from 100amp screw-in fuse to a new 200amp service. I have done everything before except for the wiring from a meter socket to a new main breaker cabinet. I have purchased the approved meter socket that duke allows and wanted to know what size wire I need and can use, the distance from meter to main breaker is approx 5ft. Also when I look at everything online I can only find where they have you use only 2-hots and one neutral. Then ground the meter to the two grounding rods. In all the wire I see there are four wires in the roll, two hots, neutral, and uncoated (ground). Do I need all four and if so, do I put the neutral and uncoated (ground) under same lug in meter socket. I have gotten the required permit for the job.

Thanks


Last edited by rekish; 06-15-2012 at 07:42 PM. Reason: add picture of meter socket
rekish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:53 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Installing New 200amp Service Meter Socket/Main Breaker


Not sure what's allowed in your area, but we use SEU type wire... 4/0 AL.... that contains 2 hots and a concentric neutral... and grounding electrode conductors (wire from ground rods) are not allowed in meters by all power companies, something else you need to find out.


Last edited by stickboy1375; 06-15-2012 at 11:07 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 09:29 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Installing New 200amp Service Meter Socket/Main Breaker


like stickboy said you have to go by power company requirements and local codes. Some areas have amendments to the code that require certain ways. Like here we are required to run min #4 stranded from main panel to both rods then back to the main panel. My homes original service before the upgrade was done the same way over 40 years ago. I don't have any idea why they require it but that's the way everyone does it and nobody seems to complain about it.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 09:31 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Installing New 200amp Service Meter Socket/Main Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Like here we are required to run min #4 stranded from main panel to both rods then back to the main panel. .
Are you serious? Is there really a state amendment for that, or is that just what you do? because that is just crazy... That is obviously some knuckle head behind the steering wheel on that one.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 10:23 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Installing New 200amp Service Meter Socket/Main Breaker


Its actually a pretty cool idea (although could be a real PITA). If the any part of the wire gets damaged, you will still have the two ground rods connected.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100 Amp Service - Installing A/C - Need to Upgrade? alisanke Electrical 17 04-28-2012 07:24 AM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 03:09 AM
Upgrading to 400A service questions alcl Electrical 7 02-06-2012 10:25 AM
150am service to 200amp service in the same can bandito2 Electrical 3 07-04-2010 09:17 AM
meter to service panel mikim Electrical 5 05-04-2007 06:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.