Installing Nema Locking Plug Outlet. Need Advice. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2008, 04:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


i have to pull wire and install a receptical for a vaccum heat press in my shop.
these are the requirements: 4-wire, single phase NEMA L14-20 plug 230 VAC, 15 Amps -
and here's a link to the actual equipment: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...specifications

i was an assistant electrician for a year, but i'm a novice. what supplies do i need? i figure i need a double 230 breaker..don't know what wire...and a L14-20 outlet.

can anyone help me get started?
andy

Advertisement

SPIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 04:21 PM   #2
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


You would need 12-3 wire/cable, a double pole 20A breaker, and as you said, an L14-20 receptacle, and a box for it. Plus any cable clamps, etc needed for your type of cable/conduit.

If this is going in a residential shop, you can probably use NM cable -- commercial you'd probably need to run MC cable or conduit.

I'm an amateur, BTW -- there are plenty of really knowledgeable pro electricians on this site, so you might want to wait to hear from one of them too before you go shopping.

Advertisement

ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 04:21 PM   #3
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


If it is straight 220, 230, 240 whichever you want to call it you only need 2 wire with ground. Since it is only 15 amps you only need 14 gauge wire but I would go with 12 wire on a 20 amp breaker just to be safe.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 04:26 PM   #4
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bhpphotovideo.com
Requirements: 4-wire, single phase NEMA L14-20 plug 230 VAC, 15 Amps
According to the requirements on the site, it's 4-wire. So 2 hots, neutral, and a ground. The electronics may require 120V. (Hence 12-3 cable).
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 05:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
If it is straight 220, 230, 240 whichever you want to call it you only need 2 wire with ground. Since it is only 15 amps you only need 14 gauge wire but I would go with 12 wire on a 20 amp breaker just to be safe.
Read the details. It call for a four wire plug, so you know it's a four wire run. How about 12 gauge on a 15A breaker?

Last edited by jerryh3; 10-17-2008 at 05:56 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 05:38 PM   #6
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3
How about 12 gauge on a 15A breaker?
Not sure if this will be running for >3 hours.. If it's a continuous load it would have to be on an OCPD rated for 125% of load, therefore 20A breaker... no?
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 05:58 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottR View Post
Not sure if this will be running for >3 hours.. If it's a continuous load it would have to be on an OCPD rated for 125% of load, therefore 20A breaker... no?
If you put it that way, then yes. The requirements are written funny. It says it's a 15A load, but requires a 15A circuit. If this thing is meant to run continuously, then it should be spec'ed to a 20A circuit.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 06:53 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


it will run continuously for most applications for just a few minutes. i don't think any more than 10minutes. i want to use the vaccum press eventually for rubber vaccuum clamp sheeting for wood veneering which could require leaving it on overnight.
SPIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 07:24 PM   #9
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


NEMA L14-20=20 amp receptacle. The specs call for a 15A circuit, but the receptacle is rated 20A. I'd run 12 AWG on a 2P-20A brkr. Also note that the specs say " ** International (export) model electrical specifications"...so are these specs for the U.S. or outside the U.S.??
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should

Last edited by SD515; 10-17-2008 at 07:32 PM.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 07:31 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


so is the 4 wire pretty common...can i find it in a role of the flex conduit?
SPIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 07:39 PM   #11
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SPIT View Post
so is the 4 wire pretty common...can i find it in a role of the flex conduit?
If you mean 12/3 w/gnd MC cable, yes, it's common. Commonaly a 25 foot roll is the smallest you'll find on a shelf in a big-box store, but not always. Some may sell it by the foot also.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 09:59 PM   #12
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515
Also note that the specs say " ** International (export) model electrical specifications"...so are these specs for the U.S. or outside the U.S.??
I think that ** refers to where it says 3-wire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Website
230 VAC, 15 Amps; Requirements: 4-wire, single phase NEMA L14-20 plug 230 VAC, 15 Amps - **3-wire

** International (export) model electrical specifications
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 03:11 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


When you run romex down a wall exposed, it must be protected by conduit. Be sure to use proper bushings if you do. (This is a short run down a wall, no romex in conduit in other situations)
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 06:21 AM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottR View Post
You would need 12-3 wire/cable, a double pole 20A breaker, and as you said, an L14-20 receptacle, and a box for it. Plus any cable clamps, etc needed for your type of cable/conduit.

If this is going in a residential shop, you can probably use NM cable -- commercial you'd probably need to run MC cable or conduit.

I'm an amateur, BTW -- there are plenty of really knowledgeable pro electricians on this site, so you might want to wait to hear from one of them too before you go shopping.
Scott is right on the money here (although it should be a 12/3 with ground cable) . A continuous load is considered to be 3+ hours and should not load the circuit to more than 80% of it's ampacity: on a 20 amp circuit that would be 16 amps. This is to prevent the build-up of heat in the circuit during the extended duration. If you're unsure of whether it will be a continuous load or not, I would err on the side of safety and wire it as a continuous load.
Tuckahoe Sparkplug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 05:39 PM   #15
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

installing nema locking plug outlet. need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottR View Post
I think that ** refers to where it says 3-wire.
I think you're right Scott...my bad.

Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a new outlet advice kennykenny Electrical 19 08-29-2008 11:54 AM
Installing dryer outlet in laundry room ManMythLegend Electrical 11 07-13-2008 11:36 AM
Is it a hazard to plug a surge protector into an ungrounded GFI outlet? CuriousWithQuestions Electrical 7 02-01-2008 10:04 PM
Help on installing a 220v outlet BobRankin Electrical 24 10-23-2007 06:32 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts