Installing Long LED Strips Of SMD 5050 - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2012, 01:09 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


I have a Martin Freekie board.

And thats not entirely true. I have intelligent lighting that uses DMX channels for macros in case you have a board that doesnt program macros. A freekie does program macros however none of them seem to be recognized by the strips.

I really couldnt turn anything up. I think i would need a whole new board to do it and then the lights wouldnt be in sync with all the other lights. Sigh.

Advertisement

mjkelly93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:49 AM   #17
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


The Freekie is not really designed to do this kind of work. It's technically capable of it, since it can assign up to 12 channels per instrument (you need three), but it doesn't have the built-in functionality of RGB control that you'd really like to have. You are right that some instruments have built in animation sequences that allow you to make them do fancy stuff without an intelligent controller, but that's beyond the standard specifications of DMX-512 and since it's built into each fixture there's no way to synchronize it among different instrument types. If you want to synchronize multiple types of lighting instruments so they all perform together coherently, you need to program all the actions from the lighting control board without using any fixture animation features. Might want to look at PC based lighting control software.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 02:26 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


What software do you recommend? The freekie is a little bit outdated and we just doubled our dance floor so our 12 lights probably will not be enough.
mjkelly93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:31 PM   #19
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjkelly93 View Post
What software do you recommend? The freekie is a little bit outdated and we just doubled our dance floor so our 12 lights probably will not be enough.
It's been about 10 years since I did any theater lighting, so I haven't used any of the current generation of controllers or software myself, but I try to stay somewhat up to date on the technology. I know many new installations are foregoing the traditional lighting control boards and using strictly PC-based systems, although many are still hybrids with a manual board and a computer interface (which was the last technology I used). Chauvet makes a well respected free software package and sells USB-to-DMX interfaces, but since I haven't used it myself I can't say whether it's the right solution.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:27 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


You need to run a separate power supply and signal amplifier for each section of leds. You can either run a power supply that is rated for 30% more than the total power consumption of all your lights and multiple outlets, or 1 power supply for each roll of lights. You will have the first power supply, controller, lights, amplifier hooked to power supply, second set of lights, amplifier hooked to power supply, third set of lights, and so on. The signal amplifier just amplifies the controllers signal, the power supply powers each roll of lights. You can run an infinite amount of light this way as each new roll has it's own power supply.
waynestractor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:36 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


One RGB LED controller can control as many meters of strip as you want, and they can all be 'in sync' because you connect them all together. You will need one RGB Amplifier if you go for 30 LED/m strips, or 2 RGB Amplifiers if you go for 60 LED/m strips. The power supply requirements are very important too - we don't use use 'transformers' these days - high-efficiency switched-mode power supplies are the norm. Dual-feeding is essential for such large installs.
ryanhl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 10:35 AM   #22
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


I just put in a bunch of dmx controllers tied into a Lutron system. Double check the spec on the lights sometimes they need a 0-10v control supply to the driver as well as 120v for the dimming to function correctly. Also your smart lighting system may need to be programmed to recognize the LEDs are even tied into the system.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:14 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


Quote:
Originally Posted by waynestractor View Post
You need to run a separate power supply and signal amplifier for each section of leds. You can either run a power supply that is rated for 30% more than the total power consumption of all your lights and multiple outlets, or 1 power supply for each roll of lights. You will have the first power supply, controller, lights, amplifier hooked to power supply, second set of lights, amplifier hooked to power supply, third set of lights, and so on. The signal amplifier just amplifies the controllers signal, the power supply powers each roll of lights. You can run an infinite amount of light this way as each new roll has it's own power supply.
Will hooking together 2 - 5 meter rolls of RGB strips work with one RGB controller?
easytim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:40 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


How many lights/meter, 30 or 60? You could get away with it if they are 30/m, 60/m will 150watts, which is more than most controllers can handle, in which case you will need to use a signal repeater and separate power supply.
waynestractor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:09 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


Most the LEDs I will be using are the 30 leds per meter, so that will be close to 450 leds

I'm want to have a run that will go 40 ft long



5 meters = 16.4041995 feet
easytim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 09:08 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


That's definitely too long for a single run, you will need to use an RGB amplifier in between them, it's the only way to be sure your lights will be as bright near the end and to keep the lights in sync.
waynestractor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 08:22 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


Ok so I'm an A/V Engineer and that's what I primarily do but, I also know electrical pretty well. I also would like to tie multiple RGB 5050 LED strips to one controller. It seems to me that if I have power supplies for each strip (or every two strips depending on power draw) that I could connect the RGB control from strip to strip and then just have one feed from the controller, all the way through all of the strips. Am I on the right track or am I way off here ?
JoeyS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 11:15 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


In order to do it the way you describe you would need to use RGB amplifiers to carry the signal from the original controller, powering them with as many power supplies as you need. Most controllers can only handle 180watts or so, if you are using 5050-6012rgb strips, which consume 14.4w/meter, you can only safely run 12-13m. If you use 5050-3012, you can run twice as much, but should have the controller in the middle to avoid voltage drop at the far end.
waynestractor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 06:23 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,701
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

Installing long LED strips of SMD 5050


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjkelly93 View Post
information on how to install long, 60-90 ft, lengths of these lights.
Is anyone familiar with how to install these led strip lights and can offer me a hand?
All things are possible.

But we need more specific information.

Do you know what the power requirements are for these Led light strips ?

It's just a matter of getting the correct controlers and power supplies.

There out there, but remember the bigger the dearer.

Perhaps a brand or model number ?

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How long to let grout dry before installing toilet Murdy Flooring 3 06-06-2011 07:11 PM
Installing All New HVAC system aeridyne HVAC 8 01-08-2011 07:59 PM
Installing 16ft sliding glass impact door dario08 Building & Construction 1 09-29-2010 07:00 PM
Installing a suspended in a room that has an angled wall... markronz Remodeling 10 02-20-2010 10:03 AM
Installing Help! hardwood flooring in Hot&Humid weather dvarga Flooring 7 08-08-2005 06:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts