Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2013, 07:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 222
Share |
Default

Installing interconnected smoke detectors


During last nights storm our phone line got knocked out. No big deal except it set the alarm panel beeping about a phone fault. Usually I can press the * to quiet this beep but last night I could not. So I had to shut it off. Then we realized that we no longer had smoke detectors. So off to Walmart I went to get some battery powered ones.

So that got me thinking about installing some interconnected hardwired ones as backup. So just looking for advice on brands, how to they communicate with each other, etc. Do they need to be on their own circuit? Do they have battery backup or do I need to put them on a generator circuit?

Since they are strictly for backup, I am only planning on using 4 of them, master, daughter's BR, living room and basement. Or do I need to go all in on this?

Thanks
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 08:12 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,671
Default

Installing interconnected smoke detectors


Battery powered wireless interconnected:

http://homedepot54.reachlocal.net/p/...a#.UdbFvdg2iYU

  • Uses radio frequency to coordinate with other Kidde wireless alarms so that when 1 unit sounds, all units sound
  • Smart Touch Button quickly and temporarily silences nuisance alarms activated by any alarm in the system
  • Smart Touch Button hushes a low-battery chirp for up to 12 hours
  • Smart Touch Button tests operation of the unit and interconnected system
  • Powered by a 9-volt battery for continuous protection, even during power outages
  • Wireless operation for easy do-it-yourself installation
  • UL listed
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 10:06 AM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,461
Default

Installing interconnected smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Battery powered wireless interconnected:
Do they meet code?
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 10:55 AM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,671
Default

Installing interconnected smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Do they meet code?
Probably would not meet current codes but he has smokes already and is adding a back up.

If 120 and battery back up is required;

http://www.amazon.com/First-Alert-SA...d+smoke+alarms

Some AHJ's want the smokes on a separate circuit, some want on a lighting circuit (so you know if you lose power).
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,261
Default

Installing interconnected smoke detectors


Quote:
I am only planning on using 4 of them, master, daughter's BR, living room and basement.Or do I need to go all in on this?
Go all in. The longer it takes for the alarm to sound, the bigger the fire will be (more damage) before the Fire Dept. arrives.

If backing up the system is needed, partial backup isn't enough.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 03:21 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 222
Default

Installing interconnected smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Some AHJ's want the smokes on a separate circuit, some want on a lighting circuit (so you know if you lose power).
Don't have AHJ. So no codes really to worry about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Go all in. The longer it takes for the alarm to sound, the bigger the fire will be (more damage) before the Fire Dept. arrives.

If backing up the system is needed, partial backup isn't enough.
I get the concept here, but this is for the 2-3 nights a year when the phone line is out. And honestly for those 2-3 nights it is about getting people/pets out and not property damage. Plus we would already be behind notifying the fire department since we would have to get out first and then call vs the alarm panel making the automated call.
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grrrr Smoke detectors not compatible?? forcedreno2012 Electrical 8 06-09-2013 08:54 PM
Smoke Detectors BRK or Firex? teamo Electrical 3 03-05-2013 12:51 PM
Smoke detectors and reaction time Red Squirrel Safety 4 02-23-2012 08:15 PM
How do you measure DC voltage without a negative DC line (smoke detectors) darlingm Electrical 22 01-22-2012 10:25 PM
Wired Smoke Detectors? bjstewa Electrical 2 05-09-2007 08:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.