Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2009, 09:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


Hi all,
Im looking at installing a HPM superdimmer in a media room that has 4 down lights running off a normal switch.
It currently has the following wire config attached
1 red wire
2 red wires
3 black wires
3 green with yellow stripe are isolated from the switch and covered in electrical tape.

Now the dimmer has 3 inputs.

Loop.
Active.
Load.

I think it goes like this but please correct me if im wrong

Loop: Stays empty
Active: single red wire
Load: 2 red wires

Then I isolate the 3 black wires and insulate them with a cap.

agdp07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:16 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 105
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


I have to tell you, I have no idea what you are talking about.

This makes no sense to me.

Where are you located?

Can you post pictures of what you are talking about?

EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


This seems to be the manufacturer's website...
http://www.hpm.com.au

And all I can find on the "XL400ESD Superdimmer" here...
(Page 2)
http://www.hpm.co.nz/Uploads/HPM_Dim...ontrollers.pdf

I can't find ANY wiring diagrams on their web site for this! I would return it and buy something from a company which provides technical documentation for their products...
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 10:17 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


Sorry im in Australia.
Red is Active
Black is Neutral
Green/yellow is earth.

Does that help or would you like some pictures?
agdp07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 10:48 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


Most manufacturers of electrical things have "wiring diagrams" on their web site. Or installation manuals, service manuals, etc.

Like this manufacturer provides wiring diagrams for each of its products here...
http://www.lutron.com/CMS400/Techinfopage.aspx?id=19285

And they include wiring diagrams in the package the product comes in.

That is the basic way electricians know how to connect things. Also they provide instruction manuals which say how things operate. People lose these things.

Did your product come with any wiring diagrams which would look like the following? (Not for your product.)

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 08:28 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


I will get a hold of my freind he is electrician in that area so he will fill me in with details and I will foward the correct info here.

Merci,marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:03 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


Surely there is some Aussie Sparkies hanging out on here?
agdp07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 06:56 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


I have attached installation info.
It says a neutral is not required yet in the picture it shows the load connecting to neutral.
Attached Thumbnails
Installing a HPM superdimmer-p1000156.jpg  
Attached Images
 
agdp07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 07:08 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


That is the load neutral it is connected to the load--light bulb whatever. If your red is active then the black must be the load not a neutral.

Last edited by brric; 03-18-2010 at 07:12 PM.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:02 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


Ok I think I have got it.
The 2 red wires are the active and a loop.
The single red wire is the load "my down lights"

So I put the 2 red wires in the active and the single red wire in the load, then the 3 black wires "neutral" all go together
the 3 neutrals are 1 from mains, 1 from load and 1 from the loop.
Is this correct?
agdp07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:26 PM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


Quote:
Originally Posted by agdp07 View Post
Ok I think I have got it.
The 2 red wires are the active and a loop.
The single red wire is the load "my down lights"

So I put the 2 red wires in the active and the single red wire in the load, then the 3 black wires "neutral" all go together
the 3 neutrals are 1 from mains, 1 from load and 1 from the loop.
Is this correct?
I don't think so. I guess I'd have to be there. I don't think black wires are neutrals but I've never been down under.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:30 PM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


There should have been two wires connected to the switch you removed. According to the instructions you show those two wires are the only ones that get connected to te dimmer.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 10:28 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


This is the current light switch.
Attached Thumbnails
Installing a HPM superdimmer-light-switch.jpg  
agdp07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:20 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Installing a HPM superdimmer


Any one else got any suggestions?

agdp07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.