Installing A Grounding Rod - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2011, 09:01 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 173
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Installing a grounding rod


ok you go take your neutral ( which is centre tapped at the transformer and then grounded) and take your ground off at the panel and tell me what happens

Advertisement

awdblazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 09:06 AM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by awdblazer View Post
ok you go take your neutral ( which is centre tapped at the transformer and then grounded) and take your ground off at the panel and tell me what happens
Any current that is flowing in that panel will try and find IT'S SOURCE. This will take any path possible. So you have a transformer that has a ground rod and a panel that has one and is looking for a place to go. The current goes into the earth via the rods and metallic water piping. The earth becomes live with voltage and worms come up to the surface because dirt is a terrible conductor. Also, your neighbors TV and microwave blow up because there is stray voltage on their water pipes that is not enough to trip any breakers but is enough to cause damage and shock someone.


HOW in the bloody world do you think a ground rod will cover for an open neutral?????????
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 03:23 PM   #18
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by awdblazer View Post
ok you go take your neutral ( which is centre tapped at the transformer and then grounded) and take your ground off at the panel and tell me what happens
what are you trying to explain. If you take the neutral loose from the poco, you will have only 240 supply to your house. You will get the typical open neutral problem with loads splitting that supply based on their resistance as compared to the other loads on the circuit at the same time and likely fry some of the stuff in your house.

You should read the NEC section that actually defines the intended use of the grounding electrode system.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 06:25 PM   #19
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by awdblazer View Post
ok you go take your neutral ( which is centre tapped at the transformer and then grounded) and take your ground off at the panel and tell me what happens
Not quite sure what you are suggesting. If I disconnect the GEC from the neutral bus nothing will change as far as household current. Both legs will read 120 volts, every receptacle will be properly grounded, and every GFCI will work correctly. I just hope I don't end up in a thunderstorm....
If I leave the GEC connected and somehow disconnected the neutral line from the bus bar, I would have an imbalance between my two 120 volt legs base on the load on each leg and the resistance of the ground path between my panel and the transformer center tap. I would see lights getting brighter or dimmer depending on the loads and probably ruin a lot of equipment.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding electrode conductor question bsperr Electrical 8 12-05-2009 10:23 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 05:34 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 05:11 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 06:45 PM
advice on installing equipment grounding bar in main panel pacifier1er Electrical 5 05-29-2007 06:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts