Installing A Grounding Rod - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2011, 09:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Looking at installing a grounding rod for my home. Let's pretend I know nothing about anything and go from there.

Currently, my home is being grounded through my cold water pipe. I believe it would be wise to sink a rod outside for more safety.

Advantages of rod vs. cold water pipe by the way? My home is built on a slab, and I suspect my grounding wires to the cold water pipe are in concrete... If that matters?

Advertisement

Cm1384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 10:13 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Just curious. What do you think is the advantage of adding another grounding electrode / ground rod?

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (03-25-2011)
Old 03-24-2011, 10:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Installing a grounding rod


You suspect that you have a Ufer?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 10:19 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing a grounding rod


I don't think I do, after researching what it was. It appears to just ground at my cold water pipe.
Cm1384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 11:05 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cm1384 View Post
Currently, my home is being grounded through my cold water pipe. I believe it would be wise to sink a rod outside for more safety.
then drive a rod. Depending on how much wire you need, you should be able to do it for ~$50. It won't hurt to drive one.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 12:44 AM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Drive a rod it is actually a current code requirement to have a supplemental grounding electrode to the metal water pipe.

Understand that the grounding electrode system (GES) is for property protection from lightning, power surges and those types of events.

It is not considered a protection for humans from electrocution.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 08:09 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Installing a grounding rod


your grounding electrode or ground rod is there to prevent open neutrals, thats it nothing else
the transformer is centre tapped and grounded, if you lose this ground and you didnt have your grounding electrode or ground rod you would only have 240 at your house not 120/240
awdblazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 08:28 AM   #8
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by awdblazer View Post
your grounding electrode or ground rod is there to prevent open neutrals, thats it nothing else
the transformer is centre tapped and grounded, if you lose this ground and you didnt have your grounding electrode or ground rod you would only have 240 at your house not 120/240
Your reply is incorrect.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:32 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Your reply is incorrect.
Completely and utterly incorrect.
Wow!
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:35 AM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Installing a grounding rod


A grounding electrode has absolutely nothing to do with the day to day workings of an electrical system, NOR is it any form of "backup" or safety ground for the system.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 10:20 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
A grounding electrode has absolutely nothing to do with the day to day workings of an electrical system, NOR is it any form of "backup" or safety ground for the system.
If it's not day to day, not backup, and not safety, then what is it for?
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 10:58 AM   #12
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by pyper View Post
If it's not day to day, not backup, and not safety, then what is it for?
Lightning strikes
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
pyper (03-25-2011)
Old 03-25-2011, 11:01 AM   #13
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Installing a grounding rod


See Stubbie's post #6
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:18 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Lightning strikes
Seems like that's a safety issue
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:26 AM   #15
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Installing a grounding rod


Yes, but Speedy said
Quote:
NOR is it any form of "backup" or safety ground for the system.
referring to the previous suggestion that its purpose was to provide an neutral path backup.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
pyper (03-25-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding electrode conductor question bsperr Electrical 8 12-05-2009 10:23 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 05:34 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 05:11 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 06:45 PM
advice on installing equipment grounding bar in main panel pacifier1er Electrical 5 05-29-2007 06:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts