Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2013, 07:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


I was wondering does anyone know exactly where I should mount the ground screw on a 100 amp Homelite fuse panel? Usually there is a place on the ground terminal where this screw goes but on this panel there isn't one. Should I just screw it on the neutral or ground terminal block itself where the neutral and ground wires go?

mellemel1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:05 AM   #2
Plumber/Contractor
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,160
Rewards Points: 2,480
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


Moved to electrical

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:12 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


We would need to see a picture and clarification on if you are mounting a ground bar or a bond screw/jumper.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
plummen (10-23-2013)
Old 10-23-2013, 10:46 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


Homelite or Homeline??? Usually a Homeline bonding screw goes in the middle of the buss connecting bar. Have you read the instructions?

http://www.schneider-electric.us/sit...&redirect=true

Last edited by brric; 10-23-2013 at 11:06 AM.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
plummen (10-23-2013)
Old 10-23-2013, 11:08 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


If it looks like this, it'll go here
Attached Thumbnails
Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel-square-d-homeline-service-panel-pic.jpg  
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wirenut1110 For This Useful Post:
brric (10-23-2013), Philly Master (10-23-2013)
Old 10-23-2013, 12:59 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110
If it looks like this, it'll go here
We don't know if it is a sub or main panel...makes a BIG difference,
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-23-2013), Know A Little (10-23-2013)
Old 10-23-2013, 05:15 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,980
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


Ground screw? Homelite? Fuse panel? Ground terminal? Too much incorrect terminology to give me any confidence you know what you're doing. Would help to know why you're asking about this.

If it's the green BONDING SCREW you're talking about, the picture posted above is right on - looks just like my Homeline panel. But that screw is used only in the main panel, not any subpanel. If you're referring to the GROUND BAR, Homeline panels (at least all I've seen) don't come with one - you have to purchase it separately. It comes with its own hardware for attachment to the panel.

Last edited by md2lgyk; 10-23-2013 at 05:18 PM.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (10-23-2013)
Old 10-23-2013, 06:02 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,665
Rewards Points: 2,290
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


So the question is -

Is it a sub panel or a main panel ?

And yes it matters !

A lot !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 08:17 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


Sorry guys, it is a Homeline. It is the green bonding screw. It is a main panel. I understand that a subpanel doesnt require a bonding screw. Im clear on where it goes now. Some'm panels are different and I just wasn't sure. Thanks guys
mellemel1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 08:46 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


The locations of the bond screw or strap is clearly labeled on the label.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 02:12 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,980
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

Installing ground screw on Homelite fuse panel


Glad you got it sorted out. Hope you don't think my previous post was too harsh. Reading posts in Electrical from folks who don't seem to know what they're doing make me cringe. Bad plumbing will get you wet; bad wiring will get you killed.

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing an old electrical panel (w/out ground bar) yilmazma Electrical 5 12-13-2012 11:58 AM
Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding erm1981 Electrical 25 07-17-2012 11:25 PM
Electrical Panel - Ground Bar/Wiring and Safety cfreak Electrical 31 09-11-2011 09:10 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 10:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.