Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2010, 01:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Installing GFCI outlets in old home


I live in a home built in 1931. Most of the wiring is original knob and tube, except for the kitchen and bathroom which were upgraded in the 80's and have more modern plastic-clad wiring.

The kitchen and bathroom outlets are all 3 prong, but only one or two outlets are grounded, the others aren't (the ground wire is either missing entirely or it's there but seems to not be connected). The bedrooms outlets are all 2 prong.

I would like to replace all the outlets in the kitchen and bathroom with GFCI outlets, even if the missing ground makes them somewhat less useful.

I also seem to recall reading somewhere that having GFCI in the bedrooms is a good idea, to help with sparking or something.

Any thoughts on this? Is this in keeping with current electrical codes, even if the ground seems to be missing or non-functional throughout most of the kitchen/bathroom?

Thanks,

Razvan.

surdules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 08:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 413
Default

Installing GFCI outlets in old home


I'd suggest an inspection by a qualified electrician to check the integrity of the knob and tube.Also were the connections of the upgrades made to the panel or the knob and tube.For the bedrooms you are thinking of arc fault breakers.

daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 10:22 AM   #3
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 762
Default

Installing GFCI outlets in old home


Aside from running new wires, installing GFCI outlets is the right thing to do if you need 3-prong outlets. They still provide some extra protection even without a ground. They need to be labeled "No Equipment Ground"; most GFCIs should come with a sticker for this.

As far as bedrooms and sparking, yes, you're thinking of AFCIs. Replacing the circuit breakers for the knob & tube circuits with AFCIs can be a good idea, and is sometimes recommended. Theoretically, the AFCI will trip if there is a bad splice or broken wire arcing somewhere. They can provide additional protection for old wiring.

That said, having the existing knob and tube checked out by an electrician can't hurt. Old houses can have a lot of creative wiring done over the years, and it's not always done in the safest ways...
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI on generator tripping; home backup MrNeutron Electrical 21 07-02-2009 10:11 PM
Why do GFCI outlets have 4 lead and 4 load holes? 1655graff Electrical 14 04-20-2009 07:22 PM
downstream of GFCI outlets amakarevic Electrical 11 12-25-2008 01:13 PM
GFCI Trips campbellpt Electrical 28 11-21-2008 03:06 PM
Novice question: Installing windows in wood sided home...(pic) Dr. Jim Building & Construction 5 07-06-2007 06:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.