Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2008, 09:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing fan with 1/2 hot or remote?


I want to add a ceiling fan to our daughters room,The only switch is on the wall is a half hot,I have a chair rail at switch height and completely wallpapered is there a way to fish a wire and use the 1/2 hot switch? or can I use the stacked double switch for power to the fan ( I dont feel like removing the rail and taking a chance of screwing up the wall paper by adding in a double cut in box).

What I really would like to do is just splice into the light in the attic (with a junction box of course)for power and use a remote for on and off,but not sure if that is acceptable? any help would be greatly appreciated.

zombie911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 11:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Installing fan with 1/2 hot or remote?


Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie911 View Post
What I really would like to do is just splice into the light in the attic (with a junction box of course)for power and use a remote for on and off,but not sure if that is acceptable? any help would be greatly appreciated.
I think you should do that. A ceiling fan draws a very small load even with a light kit, you should be fine tapping off the nearest circuit. Although, most places these days require ALL openings in bedrooms to be arc fault protected. So you might want to check if your house has arc fault circuits in the bedrooms, (look in your panel for arc fault breakers) if so, check and make sure that attic light is being fed from a bedroom circuit. If not then perhaps you can tap off a closet light or something else that is arc faulted.

Super33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 11:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing fan with 1/2 hot or remote?


Super33,

thanks for the reply.. this is a newer 2 story home with arc faults, so I will look for those cicuts.
zombie911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 12:01 AM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Installing fan with 1/2 hot or remote?


Maybe this is a silly question, what is a '1/2 hot switch' ??
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 12:27 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Installing fan with 1/2 hot or remote?


I was thinking it switched half of one or all of the outlets in the room but I could be wrong..
Super33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 12:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Installing fan with 1/2 hot or remote?


If you use a remote you do not need the switch. The fan itself has the disconnecting means by the pull chains. Use the nearest lighting circuit available.
Note: It is very important that you know the power is disconnected before you wire up the fan. It would not be good if the fan started to turn while you are on the ladder.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 12:59 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing fan with 1/2 hot or remote?


Thanks for the responce...lets asume I wanted it switched if I had 2 sets of wire's coming into the switch box could I add a two in one switch?(I cant add a double box,no room) by pigtail the blk (hot) to upper pole brass screw with blk from fan to same pole silver screw.

sorry if my termoligy is bad but just trying to get a clear understanding of this.
zombie911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 02:55 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Installing fan with 1/2 hot or remote?


1/2 hot mystified me also!

There are combination switch/receptacle units available or double switch units that occupy only one position in a single gang box!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 03:30 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,922
Rewards Points: 2,240
Default

Installing fan with 1/2 hot or remote?


Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie911 View Post
Thanks for the responce...lets asume I wanted it switched if I had 2 sets of wire's coming into the switch box could I add a two in one switch?(I cant add a double box,no room) by pigtail the blk (hot) to upper pole brass screw with blk from fan to same pole silver screw.

sorry if my termoligy is bad but just trying to get a clear understanding of this.
The depends on how the swith was wired.
Let us know what wires are in the switch and we can direct you from there.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote with whole house fan? jman1 Electrical 11 05-23-2010 10:07 AM
Missing Wireless Remote - Motorized Plasma TV Lift JanFan Home Theater 3 03-19-2009 09:46 AM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 09:26 PM
Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer sk72 Electrical 8 03-19-2008 10:16 PM
Hampton Bay Remote Ceiling Fan esqjd Electrical 16 01-14-2008 06:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.