Installing An Electricity Monitor Sensor Inside My Fuse Box - Which Wire? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2011, 08:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing an electricity monitor sensor inside my fuse box - which wire?


Hi,

I live in a flat and I'm trying to install an electricity monitor to monitor my usage.

My electricity meter isn't accessible to me (its locked in a cupboard down the corridor). The wires that come into my flat are contained inside a pipe, so the only place I can actually see the wires to install the monitor sensor is in the fuse box itself.

Here's how it looks inside...



The bottom left corner is where the wires come in from the meter - there are 3 (green/yellow, blue and red). The wires going out of the left and top sides are to/from the heating system and shower. With the fusebox closed, the label on the casing has an "L" under the rightmost of the big red switches, the left one says "N".

Am I right in thinking that the wire marked "?" is where I need to install the sensor?

Thanks for your help!

Cheers,
Nick

Advertisement

nickday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:38 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing an electricity monitor sensor inside my fuse box - which wire?


Yes, the wire with the ? on it should be the one you pass thru the CT.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:55 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing an electricity monitor sensor inside my fuse box - which wire?


Thanks for your reply. I've just tried to install it, but unfortunately the wires are very solid and will hardly move. I can't get enough clearance to install the sensor around the wire. I think I'll probably have to leave it for now

Thanks,
Nick
nickday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 01:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Installing an electricity monitor sensor inside my fuse box - which wire?


You are in Canada right?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 01:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing an electricity monitor sensor inside my fuse box - which wire?


No, I'm in England
nickday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 02:10 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing an electricity monitor sensor inside my fuse box - which wire?


I have see that panel simaur style many time.

However there are couple code related issue is allready arised one is you have double tapped incomming cable which typically a no-no pratice like that.

And you do not have any room to put in a CT { current transfomer } in there at all due you have SWA cable comming in there.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 05:13 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Installing Pot Lights - 12AWG and 14/2 wire ... help! njchan Electrical 4 04-10-2008 07:50 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 10:00 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts