Installing Electrical Boxes - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2009, 08:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Installing electrical boxes


I'm working with a contractor on my house. He lets me do some of the work to keep the expense down but I'm concerned about one of my jobs he left me to do this weekend.

I installed the electrical boxes so the tab thats on the side of the box is in front of the stud. I put some sheetrock up today and it still sits around 1/4" into the sheet rock. Is this ok or do I need to move the boxes so they sit flush with the sheetrock?

Thanks

Advertisement

MikeyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 09:53 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Installing electrical boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyP View Post
I'm working with a contractor on my house. He lets me do some of the work to keep the expense down but I'm concerned about one of my jobs he left me to do this weekend.

I installed the electrical boxes so the tab thats on the side of the box is in front of the stud. I put some sheetrock up today and it still sits around 1/4" into the sheet rock. Is this ok or do I need to move the boxes so they sit flush with the sheetrock?

Thanks
It's fine. Just no more than 1/4". And why are you putting up sheetrock before the contractor (I assume electrical) has had a chance to make sure it is OK? How will the inspector see it?

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 09:55 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

Installing electrical boxes


We don't need no stinking inspectors!
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 10:20 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Installing electrical boxes


Remember not to push the boxes so far back that the tabs are against the stud. The edge of the stud is radiused and the alignment tabs do not take this into account. If you have the tabs touching the radius as you probably do you get the problem you have now.

I agree, 1/4 is not too bad, but I don't like it personally.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 10:32 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Installing electrical boxes


The electrical has been done for a while. I'm just getting to the sheet rock
MikeyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rotozip: How to Use for Electrical Boxes ralphfravel Building & Construction 11 07-24-2010 09:35 AM
Air Sealing of Electrical Boxes on exterior walls PerpetuallyRepairing Electrical 6 07-14-2009 09:38 AM
Electrical Boxes. topher0524 General DIY Discussions 17 03-08-2009 10:43 AM
Installing 20 amp circuits in metal boxes, is 14 ga OK for ground pigtails? thegonagle Electrical 17 11-14-2008 08:34 AM
Electrical boxes in attic Cossack Electrical 6 02-27-2008 03:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts