Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2012, 11:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Installing dryer into sub-panel - Nearly full service


First time posting here.
I want to switch from a gas to electric dryer. My main box is full complete with a hot tub hook up. I have a sub-box with 8 breaker positions, 6 of which are filled. I have the appropriate wire run from the dryer to the main box (the previous owner ran the electrical even though it was a gas dryer). I just wonder if adding a dryer to the subpanel would overload the system. It is 100amp service. As I said, it has a hot tub set up on it (with outside hot tub panel) and service ran to the garage from the subpanel.

I'd simply like to know if I could fill those last two switches, what size of breakers I would need and whether it would be safe to do so. The alternative is to increase to 200amp service; however, that is a large and expensive job which I don't wish to do at this point.
Thanks in advance.

drjordens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Default

Installing dryer into sub-panel - Nearly full service


Hello, I notice you used the word "service" which means a specific thing in this context -- the utility service to your building. So your main panel has a 100A service, is that correct?

What size breaker is supplying the sub-panel? What loads are connected to the 6 existing circuits in it?

Do you have any other large electrical loads? I'm guessing your heat is gas-fired; what about your water heater, range/oven? What is the draw for your hot tub when it is running? Are you willing to live with shutting off your hot tub in order to use the electric clothes dryer?

What is the current draw for the clothes dryer? Some can be installed on a 30A 240V circuit, others need 50A!

There are a lot of unknowns here. You are right to be concerned about this and it is good you are researching it before you bought the electric dryer.

jeffsw6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Installing dryer into sub-panel - Nearly full service


That really depends on the size of the house and what you are running in it. A load calculation is the only way to know for sure.

But I do know this. That 100 amp service was never intended to run your refridgerator and range and microwave and dishwasher and dryer and washing machine and furnace and garage and we need an AC in the window and a fish tank and TV and sound system and computer and ......
I forgot the hot tub!

Last edited by jammin06; 10-31-2012 at 03:10 AM.
jammin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 07:24 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 11:33 AM
New service panel + Generator transfer Nhrafan Electrical 1 04-21-2008 11:05 PM
Main Service Panel Full bobo Electrical 5 09-24-2007 07:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.