Installing A Dimmer - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2007, 01:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing a dimmer


Hi guys. I just need a little help installing a dimmer switch. Heres the old and the new, what wire goes where? Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
     

Advertisement

xray328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 01:40 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Installing a dimmer


NONE!
You have a 3-way switch and a single pole dimmer.
You need a 3-way dimmer.

On the dimmer, the "odd" color (likely black) goes to the wire on the "common" terminal on the switch.
The two like colors (likely reds) on the dimmer go to the two other wires on the switch. It matters not which goes to which.
Green is ground.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 01:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing a dimmer


The Home Depot guy told me that I only needed a 3 pole if I had two switches controlling one light. O'well, back to the store I guess. I'll be back...
xray328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 02:32 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Installing a dimmer


You DO have (at least) two switches controlling that light. That IS a 3-way switch with the proper number of wires.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 07:12 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing a dimmer


Got it working. The switch has a green ground wire, but theres no ground hook up anywhere in the box. Is the ground needed? If so, wheres it hook up to? Thanks again!
xray328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 07:31 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Installing a dimmer


From the colors of the wires in your box can I assume you have conduit? Just connect the ground to the box or a ground wire in the box. There should be a threaded hole for a ground screw.

Glad you go it working!

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
Installing Quarter Round shanmon Flooring 4 07-19-2007 01:59 PM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 04:52 PM
Installing Corner Countertops on a corner that is not square? tjandt Remodeling 10 12-30-2005 11:26 PM
OK to user a dimmer with ceiling light? FreeCashBack.co.uk Electrical 2 06-19-2005 10:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts