Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2009, 06:59 PM   #16
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,116
Rewards Points: 3,026
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Installing dedicated outlet for generator only


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
www.interlockkit.com Time and work saver. Check this out.
The OP is living off grid. There is no need for an interlock kit. The generator will be the only source of power.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now  
Old 10-14-2009, 01:12 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Installing dedicated outlet for generator only


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The OP is living off grid. There is no need for an interlock kit. The generator will be the only source of power.
I did not see the off grid post. No need for any interlock here. Thanks joed.
J. V. is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 05:01 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing dedicated outlet for generator only


Quote:
Originally Posted by iabteri View Post
I have 8 golf cart batteries
will be installing 800 watts of solar panels on top of the RV early next year.
get a larger propane (all my generators are gas)
How many amp-hours and volts, each?
You know, lead-acid batteries give off hydrogen while being charged so there is a danger of an explosion unless they are well ventilated.

At 100% efficiency, the energy in 0.77 gal of gasoline = 1.1 gal of propane.
Yoyizit is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 05:28 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing dedicated outlet for generator only


Yoyizit, the batteries are 6V 220 AH each and wired serial and parallel for 12V with a total of 880 AH. They are situated in one of the basement compartments under the RV, which was ventilated for this purpose.

I had them installed by professionals because I needed a set up where I could put a dedicated outlet in the slide area of the RV where my office is and I couldn't figure out how to do it. They rigged a very clever system of a smaller rod of PVC going into a larger rod with a coiled electrical cord inside which goes in and out with the slide and up through the floor of the RV to the outlet. It is pretty cool so thought I'd share that!

Insofar as the propane, I can appreciate what you are saying, but I've been lugging 6 gas cans around with me for the last year to feed my generators. It is no fun manually filling generators when it is your only source of energy! The propane tank holds 175 gallons and would last quite a while for the amount of energy I use. I would also still use the two gas generators, plus the one I have in the RV, but propane is much more convenient hardwired to the house.
iabteri is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 05:57 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing dedicated outlet for generator only


So, ~11 kwh from the batteries can run the average house for 11 hours and you need about 18 kwh of energy to recharge them.
Or not. Here's a link on how to squeeze the most energy out of your batteries for a setup possibly similar to yours.
http://photovoltaics.sandia.gov/docs...atpapsteve.pdf
This gets complicated. . .

And with batteries in parallel I'd check with a hydrometer that each battery is doing its share. Series charge/discharge is probably a better arrangement.

175 gals of propane at 100% efficiency gives you 4700 kwh of energy. Maybe you'll get 1000 kwh of elec.

I wouldn't mind going off the grid myself

Last edited by Yoyizit; 10-14-2009 at 07:44 PM.
Yoyizit is offline  
Old 12-13-2013, 03:27 PM   #21
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,116
Rewards Points: 3,026
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Installing dedicated outlet for generator only


You need to install an inlet or inlets that match the type of power. Use one or more 15 amp inlets for normal type receptacles.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now  
Old 12-13-2013, 03:46 PM   #22
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,731
Rewards Points: 1,342
Default

Installing dedicated outlet for generator only


The mods moved your OP to another thread.
They prefer that we start new threads with new questions, rather than digging up similar threads from the past.

Look for the Part 2 thread.

Oso954 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a new in-line electrical outlet Nedly83 Electrical 5 09-01-2009 08:44 AM
installing an outdoor outlet bcatl Electrical 4 06-18-2009 06:56 PM
wiring a dedicated switch to a outlet Michel Electrical 2 09-18-2008 07:25 PM
Installing dryer outlet in laundry room ManMythLegend Electrical 11 07-13-2008 11:36 AM
Help on installing a 220v outlet BobRankin Electrical 24 10-23-2007 06:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.