Installing A Chandelier - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2009, 03:22 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Installing a chandelier


So- I started with a circuit where a switch controlled a receptacle. I installed a chandelier in the room. The cable that connected the switch to the receptacle was accessible in the attic, so I cut the cable, installed a junction box, and attached both the receptacle and the chandelier to the switch, inside the junction box.

My circuit tester shows that both the receptacle and chandelier are hot when I flip the switch, but neither of them will light. (I plugged a floor lamp into the receptacle to test it). I tried reversing the wires in the chandelier (even though my instructions say it shouldn't matter). Still nothing lights. I've tried new light bulbs, too.

My inclination is that by splitting the circuit, I've somehow diminished it- but before I go messing around in the attic again, I was hoping someone could give me an idea. What bothers me is that the tester shows that I have power, but nothing actually working. Very confusing.

Advertisement

preciouschristy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 03:37 AM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Installing a chandelier


When you made a splice in the attic was the wire you put in the j-box a 3 wire or 2 wire,sounds like prob 2-wire 1-hot,1 nutral ,1 ground (You have no nutral wire in j-box) http://www.wiringhelp.com/electrical...-a-switch.html Look at second switch setup

Advertisement


Last edited by 300zx; 07-06-2009 at 03:42 AM.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 05:35 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Installing a chandelier


Generally, homeowners shouldn't do electrical work like this..

You could have done a dozen things wrong. My guess is that you tapped into a switch loop instead of a switch leg. If there is only one cable in the sw box, that's the case and it aint gonna work.

If it is a switch leg, the neutral(white) connection is not tight.


Call someone to fix your mess before something catches fire.

Last edited by 220/221; 07-06-2009 at 05:39 AM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lighting , switch , wiring


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
heavier chandelier??? frgwtchr Electrical 13 07-25-2009 12:08 PM
Help with chandelier saluki Electrical 11 05-25-2009 08:18 PM
need help with chandelier kreynolds Electrical 4 11-05-2008 10:40 PM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 09:26 PM
ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected? gonzales9 Electrical 5 01-12-2006 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts