Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2013, 06:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Installing a ceramic kiln-image-2172714030.jpg



Installing a ceramic kiln-image-2859576446.jpg

Hello, I am trying to find some information to help me install a ceramic kiln. The above images are the information plate and plug for the Evenheat kiln.

I understand that there needs to be a 240v breaker installed (I have room for it on the panel and I have replaced breakers in the past). I have read that I have to have kiln be 80% of the Amperage rating of said breaker. So I would need a 60A rated breaker.

Now I what I am having trouble with is finding an outlet/receptacle that 1) matches the factory plug. 2) matches the 240v 60A

Please illuminate me with the solution that I'm sure is right in front of me.

jahertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 06:26 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


That's a typical welder plug on the kiln. It's rated at 50 Amps, 240 Volts.
NEMA 6-50.

You can readily get a receptacle that matches it at most electrical suppliers. Some home-horror stores may also have these in stock.

You can feed it with #8 THHN conductors installed in conduit, or #6/2 romex cable.

You don't need anything larger than a 50 Amp breaker.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 07:03 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Sorry KB, I disagree.

I do a lot of kilns, and IMO this unit requires hard wiring with a local disconnect since 60A devices are basically non-existent locally and stupidly expensive.
http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-9460-R.../dp/B00271GXA6
https://www.platt.com/platt-electric...px?zpid=161882

It is a continuous load over 50A so a 50A circuit and receptacle are not appropriate. 6/2NM is just slightly under the limit for ampacity, but I would not worry about it.

Someone just put that welder cable on it because it was easy. That does not make it appropriate.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 07:20 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Sorry KB, I disagree.

I do a lot of kilns, and IMO this unit requires hard wiring with a local disconnect since 60A devices are basically non-existent locally and stupidly expensive.
http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-9460-R.../dp/B00271GXA6
https://www.platt.com/platt-electric...px?zpid=161882

It is a continuous load over 50A so a 50A circuit and receptacle are not appropriate. 6/2NM is just slightly under the limit for ampacity, but I would not worry about it.

Someone just put that welder cable on it because it was easy. That does not make it appropriate.
what makes you think the cord was added and not factory installed?
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to usair For This Useful Post:
kbsparky (05-10-2013)
Old 05-10-2013, 07:36 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,132
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Have you tried to find an instruction manual for this kiln? Must be a big one; my wife has a small one that needs only a 30A breaker.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 07:58 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Have you tried to find an instruction manual for this kiln? Must be a big one; my wife has a small one that needs only a 30A breaker.
The photo shows 45 amp on the rating plate.
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 08:08 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,132
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by usair View Post
The photo shows 45 amp on the rating plate.
Yes, I saw that. By "big" I meant physical size.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 09:00 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


I'm a tile manufacturer and have over 25 electric kilns. Have that kiln hard wired and forget the plug. Over time the plastic around those prongs WILL melt.
r_marcinko is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to r_marcinko For This Useful Post:
electures (05-10-2013), frenchelectrican (05-12-2013), mpoulton (05-10-2013), RWolff (05-10-2013), Speedy Petey (05-10-2013)
Old 05-10-2013, 02:32 PM   #9
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


I second the recommendation to hard-wire this kiln. I have one slightly larger than that, and I just moved it to my new house. Will be wiring it this weekend. The kiln will draw full rated power for many hours continuously, and in a hot environment. The 80% derating factor really needs to be applied, and kilns tend to melt plugs even when they don't exceed the ratings. I'd use #6 wire in flexible conduit and be done with it.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 03:07 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by usair View Post
what makes you think the cord was added and not factory installed?
Kiln's do not typically come with a cord attached, especially medium to bigger ones like this.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 03:08 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Have you tried to find an instruction manual for this kiln?
The instructions will say to wire it according to local and national codes.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 05:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Kiln's do not typically come with a cord attached, especially medium to bigger ones like this.
I just ran a circuit for an Evolution 2318 that came with a nema 6-50p and it s draw was 37A.
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 05:09 PM   #13
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


We all stand corrected!
http://evenheat-kiln.com/ceramic/rmseries/rm2-2329/
That's the current model of this kiln - the only difference appears to be updated controls. This kiln comes with that cord, and is intended to be plugged into a NEMA 6-50R receptacle, presumably on a 50A breaker since that's the largest allowed for the receptacle. I'd still take the cord off and hard-wire it, but using the cord would be perfectly acceptable.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
kbsparky (05-10-2013), RWolff (05-10-2013)
Old 05-10-2013, 05:25 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by usair View Post
I just ran a circuit for an Evolution 2318 that came with a nema 6-50p and it s draw was 37A.
37 x 125% = 46.25
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 05:26 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Installing a ceramic kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
We all stand corrected!
http://evenheat-kiln.com/ceramic/rmseries/rm2-2329/
That's the current model of this kiln - the only difference appears to be updated controls. This kiln comes with that cord, and is intended to be plugged into a NEMA 6-50R receptacle, presumably on a 50A breaker since that's the largest allowed for the receptacle. I'd still take the cord off and hard-wire it, but using the cord would be perfectly acceptable.
I guess so huh?

It amazes me how a presumably listed product can be so blatantly non-code-complaint.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (05-10-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Carpet over ceramic tiles - ? SixStrRzr Flooring 11 01-27-2010 07:29 PM
Q: Installing Hardwood/Bamboo/Cork over an existing Ceramic Floor wassab Flooring 5 09-29-2009 12:37 PM
porcelain versus ceramic tile pandora Flooring 55 11-24-2008 10:01 AM
Installing Ceramic tile: Ditra over Vinyl or rip out and use 5/8 Plywood? ppieda Flooring 2 10-05-2007 12:01 PM
Installing Backerboard for Ceramic Tile Floor average Flooring 4 09-25-2007 12:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.