Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2011, 07:09 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing central air question about conduit from disconnect to panel


Hi, I have been lurking here for a while and enjoy the many informative posts.

Anyhow, I am installing my own central air system. I got an HVAC guy that is going to braze my lines and check my freon and stuff for a $100.

I have done lots of wiring before but I am unsure of something.

So I setup my outdoor wiring and my safety disconnect. I used those a/c whips (flexible conduit). Now after the disconnect where it comes into the house, it is long enough to connect the conduit directly to the panel. I did buy some romex and a junction box thinking it would not end up being that close. Is it allowed to run the conduit from outside (from the disconnect) directly to the panel? I could not find the answer anywhere. I have a copy of the NEC but its so hard to find answers in there sometimes.

Also my thermostat wire is 20 gauge and the thermostat wire in the condenser is 18 gauge, is it okay to connect those 2 together with differing gauges? I did not notice until after I ran the thermo wire through the conduit and all the way to the furnace.


Last edited by angelas111; 05-27-2011 at 07:11 AM.
angelas111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 07:25 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Installing central air question about conduit from disconnect to panel


Yes, you can run conduit from the back of the disconnect directly into the panel.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 07:37 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing central air question about conduit from disconnect to panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Yes, you can run conduit from the back of the disconnect directly into the panel.
thanks, what about from the side of the disconnect into a hole in the house to the panel?
angelas111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel clearance question Red Squirrel Electrical 2 05-09-2011 09:53 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Panel History (old Breaker Panel Question) jamiedolan Electrical 3 01-17-2009 03:27 PM
Electrical Panel "cut-in" question Todd-sta Electrical 52 12-03-2008 11:07 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.