Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-22-2008, 07:31 PM   #1

Share |

Installing a ceiling fan in the kitchen

I HAVE NO ELECTRICAL BACKGROUND! I am in the process of replacing my regular ceiling light with a ceiling fan w/ a light. My problem is this: I installed it and I can turn the light and fan on with the laynards, I can't turn the light on with the switch. The fan has a blue, black, white, and ground wires. The wires in the ceiling are black, red, white, ground. The light switch which is a normal on/off toggle switch have two reds, one white, and one ground. Thanks for any helpful replies

gerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 08:36 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerb View Post
I HAVE NO ELECTRICAL BACKGROUND!
Right there, that means find an Electrician. How do you do it, open up the Telephone Book to the Yellow Pages, and look under the Category "Electricians.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 08:51 PM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler

Aside from the electrical aspect of such a project, please be aware that the installation of a ceiling fan requires structural support for the ceiling fan itself.

example: http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/how-...453858,00.html

Helpful links:

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...eilingFan.html

http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/how-...453858,00.html
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 04:44 AM   #4

I did install a saf T brace to support the weight of the fan. I would rather fix the problem myself than "open up the Telephone Book to the Yellow Pages, and look under the Category Electricians". Does anybody have any suggestions on wiring for me? Thank you for the links!!
Old 06-23-2008, 05:38 AM   #5
A "Handy Husband"