Installing Cans And Fan - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2012, 01:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing cans and fan


My mast. Bdrm has a light switch controlling an outlet (aaagh). I'd like to re-wire four cans and a ceiling fan. Do I need to worry about overloading the circuit? How can I tell if that will be a problem?

Advertisement

maxman10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,726
Rewards Points: 568
Default

Installing cans and fan


It's not going to be a problum.

Advertisement

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:25 PM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,650
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

Installing cans and fan


If you plan on using incandescents....then there is a chance it could be a problem....

You have to figure out how much is already on that ckt....

'Typically', lights are on a 15A ckt and outlets (recepticals) on a 20a ckt.

Is that switched outlet on a 15 or 20?

Of course, you have already gone through your house and made a map of every outlet and switch and which breaker it goes to....right? Of course you have, silly of me to ask...........(not ragging on you....just a friendly suggestion....it pays off later)

The ckt will be protected either way...but you don't want to exceed the limits of the switch either.

Figure out what all is aready on the ckt...figure out what the chances are that the other devices might be on at the same time and that will give you an idea of your breathing room on load.

One would assume that if the switch is controlling a 15a outlet...then you could potentially have a 15a load....

So....to answer your question after all the above mumbo jumbo....Yes, you 'should' be ok.....

Of course, the experts will chime in if I'm wrong.....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts