Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2008, 02:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer


Hi,

I will be moving into my new home at the end of April and I am planning to swap out the generic switch which turns 6 recess lights on and off to the the Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer. (see link below)http://www.smarthome.com/21542g.html

Lowe's associate told me that I don't need a master dimmer since I am not planning to do any centralized control. With this in thought, I bought the item shown on the link above. If you guys look the wiring scheme at the back of this switch
(Rear View)http://www.smarthome.com/images/21542gside1big.jpg

It has 3 wires (2 Blue and 1 Green). When I did a walkthough in my future home the other day, I have noticed that most of the plugs have the wiring scheme as below;

1 Black - Loose wire
1 Black with Red Stripe - Loose wire
1 Bare Copper - Loose wire
1 White (Not loose it is connected to another white wire through wire connector)

I am confused as to where I am suppose to connect the 2 blue wires?? did I get the wrong dimmer switch? Please advice.

Thanks

sk72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 08:23 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer


The dimmer switch that you bought is a slave dimmer. It requires the use of a master in order to send/receive signals. I can't be 100% sure but it may be a PLC dimmer. It isn't wired like a 3-way, it just has a power line, and transmits the signals over the other wire. Unless you have the master dimmer, this will not work.

I'll take another look at the website and see if I can dig anything up for you.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 08:34 PM   #3
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer


Here is the wiring diagram I found on Cooper's website. It does appear that you have slave dimmers and need masters.

http://64.239.63.88/catalog/

Sorry for the bad news.

I tried the link and it takes you to the main site. Type in the model #, and when it gives you the product search, do it again. Then go to page C5.

Pain in the butt.

Last edited by goose134; 03-17-2008 at 08:38 PM. Reason: link didn't go.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 09:40 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer


Thanks goose134,

Thats a bummer but fortunately I can return em and get the master switch . Looks like Lowe's associate have given me a wrong info, it's my fault as well, I should have done more research. Anyways the rear of the master dimmer would be like the image below. If this is the case, do I connect this switch as the following;

1. Black with the Black outlet in house
2. Red with the Black w/Red Stripe outlet in house
3. Green with the Bare outlet in house

Please advice. Thank You so much



sk72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 10:34 PM   #5
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer


I can't say with 100% certainty but it sounds like that is correct. Your black would be hot, red stripe your switch leg and bare is your ground. If you have a tester, it would be a simple matter to ascertain which is which.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 10:24 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer


Great!! I would definately get a tester..

btw- I am curious to find out if the blue wires are actually travellers which connects to other slave units. Also I am interested to find out where does the other blue wire connects since the slave has 2 blue and 1 green. Hmmm maybe to the hot wire?

Thanks a lot for all your help... Appreciate it
sk72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 09:04 PM   #7
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer


Having two wires, it doesn't wire like a traditional three way. I'm going to try to send you the diagram. Basically, one of the blues from the master goes right to the blue on the slave. The red from the master gets spliced with the other blue on the slave as well as the switch leg to the fixture.

The information provided at the website shows all single pole situations involving a master dimmer. It is, I believe, a PLC (power line carrier) dimmer. The master actually sends voltage on one leg, and logic using voltage on the other. This is why the slave can't stand alone.

I've been trying to get a straight link to the diagram on cooper's website, but it just isn't co-operating. If I didn't describe it well enough, you may want to visit.

Last edited by goose134; 03-18-2008 at 09:07 PM.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 07:55 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer


Thanks goose134,

You have been very helpful!! This has been my first hand experience in this forum and I extremely pleased with the professional response provided here.

Thanks a lot
sk72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 09:16 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer


http://64.239.63.88/catalog/pdf/C%205.pdf

Here is the link for the wiring diagram from Coopers site.

sparky120/240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way smart dimmer issue indignatz Electrical 16 02-10-2008 01:27 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Installing a dimmer xray328 Electrical 5 02-24-2007 06:31 PM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 03:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.