Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-19-2010, 03:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 158
Share |
Default

Installing an additional ground rod - power off?


The previous owners used the old water line as the ground rod, but that line was replaced with pex. I only have a couple feet of metal in the earth right now.

I bought a 8' copper rod and installed 2' from the side of my house. I have the copper wire (about a 1/4" thick) run to the pole, but have not connected it to the existing copper line going to the old water line.

Do I need to power shut the breaker to the house before touching the existing ground wire?

sheslostcontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 04:02 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,374
Default

Installing an additional ground rod - power off?


Not if you are careful. Depends how confident you are about not shorting to the main power wires. You need to connect this new ground direct to the panel. The old wire now becomes a BOND to the water lines.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 05:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 158
Default

Installing an additional ground rod - power off?


Couple more questions..

Can I attach the new ground line to the existing (but cut) ground line with a copper clamp?

Also what do you mean by bond? If the old line is cut (above) it won't matter anymore right?
sheslostcontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 06:09 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,374
Default

Installing an additional ground rod - power off?


The old line has to remain. You need them both.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:44 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

Installing an additional ground rod - power off?


A bond is an essentially resistance free electrical connection, accomplished either by having the two metal items in question fastened directly to each other or connected to opposite ends of a piece of wire or to some other intervening metal object.

What I was told that where there is a ground rod, the wire from it to the panel must be continuous. If the ground wire to the water pipe is added later it may terminate with a clamp at the ground wire to the rod. If there was no ground rod then the wire from the panel to the water pipe must have been continuous.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 12-20-2010 at 07:58 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange electric problem in new house, hot ground! area123 Electrical 29 07-25-2010 11:29 AM
Installing siding and city power junction/connector rugby style Building & Construction 5 07-12-2010 11:13 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Installing 20 amp circuits in metal boxes, is 14 ga OK for ground pigtails? thegonagle Electrical 17 11-14-2008 07:34 AM
Older home -- Open Ground issues, please help Toyz Electrical 1 06-15-2008 08:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.