DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Installing a 230v outlet

37K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  ThePlumber 
#1 ·
Ive just bought a Lincoln Mig-Pak 15 welder and have no place to plug it in just yet (230v 3 prong plug). Since I have a new 200amp panel in my house that is hardly being used to its full potential I was hoping to run a separate line to a new external 230v outlet with maybe a couple 110 outlets for an extension cord or two. I was just wondering what would be the proper way to do this and if anyone might forsee some problems I might run into right down to tying it in to the panel.

eg. How should the oultet be weather proofed,
What type of wire should I use,
etc.

Thanks

#2 ·
A. I'm not a pro electrician, but here's what I would consider.
B. If these are to be external outlets, they must be ground-fault protected.
C. A 230v external outlet will require a GFCI double-pole breaker of the amp indicated for the welder usage and the wire should be at least 10/2+ground, depending upon the distance. 230v has no neutral, so both insulated wires would be hot to the breaker and the bare ground wire would go to the panel ground buss.
D. An external 110v receptacle should be on a 20 amp single-pole breaker with 12/2+g wiring, if it were me. The receptacle (or at least the first one in the circuit) should be a GFCI, which also would make any receptacle beyond it in the same circuit GFCI-protected. The white neutral goes to the neutral buss in the panel, the ground goes to the ground buss, and the black hot goes to the breaker.
This is where I would start, but wait until a pro electrican comes along to confirm it (or not).
Also, check with your Building Inspection Department for local code, permit and inspection requirements before you do anything.
Good LucK!
Mike

#3 ·
Mike is correct, but just want to clear up a couple things. Beofre you go out and 10/2 wire, check the amperage of your welder, that will determine the size wire to use.