Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2009, 04:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

installing a 220v line


To run a 220v line for a compressor out of the box what type of wire should i use i have a roll of 12/2 romax 600v the yellow is this ok to use or NO.The compressor calls for a 15amp breaker the double i have that

harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 05:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 75
Default

installing a 220v line


If it calls for 15 amp breaker then 14ga is all that is required, but 12ga will never hurt. I probably would use 12ga anyway just incase you ever get a little bigger compressor.

Plumbvoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 05:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

installing a 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumbvoltage View Post
If it calls for 15 amp breaker then 14ga is all that is required, but 12ga will never hurt. I probably would use 12ga anyway just incase you ever get a little bigger compressor.
ok thanks just wanted to make sure
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 05:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 502
Default

installing a 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by harley75 View Post
To run a 220v line for a compressor out of the box what type of wire should i use i have a roll of 12/2 romax 600v the yellow is this ok to use or NO.The compressor calls for a 15amp breaker the double i have that
12-2 will work fine for a 15A load, assuming this is straight 240V, not 120/240 like a dryer. If it's straight 240V be sure to mark the white as 'hot' with a piece of black electrical tape at the panel and at the device receptacle.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 05:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

installing a 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigplanz View Post
12-2 will work fine for a 15A load, assuming this is straight 240V, not 120/240 like a dryer. If it's straight 240V be sure to mark the white as 'hot' with a piece of black electrical tape at the panel and at the device receptacle.
i have a double pole breaker i'm useing it takes up to 120 slots in the box when you say not like a dryer would it have to be done different if it's like a dryer type

Last edited by harley75; 05-02-2009 at 05:52 PM.
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 06:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 502
Default

installing a 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by harley75 View Post
i have a double pole breaker i'm useing it takes up to 120 slots in the box when you say not like a dryer would it have to be done different if it's like a dryer type
A dryer uses 120V for some things (everything, actually except the heating element). The heating element uses 240. So, since you have 120 and 240 in the same appliance the circuit has to have (in the case of a dryer) 10-3. Two hots (black and red), a neutral and a ground. A straight 240 only needs two hot wires, no neutral and a ground. Since 12-2 is made anticipating a hot and neutral will be used, you have a black and white wire. You can use the white as hot (for straight 240V, 20A or less) but you have to put black electrical tape at the panel and at the appliance box on the white wire. This indicates it is used as a hot.

Last edited by Bigplanz; 05-02-2009 at 06:03 PM.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 06:55 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

installing a 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigplanz View Post
A dryer uses 120V for some things (everything, actually except the heating element). The heating element uses 240. So, since you have 120 and 240 in the same appliance the circuit has to have (in the case of a dryer) 10-3. Two hots (black and red), a neutral and a ground. A straight 240 only needs two hot wires, no neutral and a ground. Since 12-2 is made anticipating a hot and neutral will be used, you have a black and white wire. You can use the white as hot (for straight 240V, 20A or less) but you have to put black electrical tape at the panel and at the appliance box on the white wire. This indicates it is used as a hot.
ok so when i pop in the breaker the white wire i just put black electrical tape on white wire both ends it's a siemens 2 pole breaker with the two screws.I must of been looking at this wrong i thought black wire went in one side of the breaker and the white in the other side making them both hot
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 07:28 PM   #8
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

installing a 220v line


12/2 both sides just mark the white wire, blk or red indicating it is a hot wire. i would stick with 12/2 do not forget to account for voltage drop.
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 07:35 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

installing a 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by qbert View Post
12/2 both sides just mark the white wire, blk or red indicating it is a hot wire. i would stick with 12/2 do not forget to account for voltage drop.
ok after black in one side of breaker white in the other and ground to where the others are grounded and tape white wire on both ends.

Last edited by harley75; 05-02-2009 at 07:39 PM.
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 07:48 PM   #10
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 502
Default

installing a 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by harley75 View Post
ok after black in one side of breaker white in the other and ground to where the others are grounded and tape white wire on both ends.
Yes, that's it.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 07:53 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

installing a 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigplanz View Post
Yes, that's it.
thanks for the info just wanted to double check before anything

harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding 110V outlets to 220V line MarcG Electrical 25 04-29-2009 06:04 AM
220V Washer 3-pronged to 220V dryer-outlet Primergy Electrical 19 03-27-2008 10:40 PM
Installing drain line parcially upgrade. jbravo8212 Plumbing 8 02-19-2008 05:12 PM
Help on installing a 220v outlet BobRankin Electrical 24 10-23-2007 05:32 PM
Installing exterior faucet to washer line? skellies Plumbing 3 06-18-2006 08:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.