Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2010, 01:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

installing 200 amp panel


I recently installed a combination meter panel/shutoff at a construction site with an outlet so the contractors had power. Everything was done correctly....passed inspection. Now that the house is shelled in, the contractor wants me to install the 200 amp panel in the basement so we can start wiring the house. He ran the 200 amp wire through conduit into the basement. I know need to hook up both ends. The main service entrance in the basement and also attach the 200 amp wire to the meter/breaker box outside. Along with the 200 amp three wire, he also ran a separate ground wire. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't need a ground wire running from the shutoff/meter panel outside into the main panel in the basement. I already grounded the meter/shutoff panel which is about 50 feet from the house. Obviously, I will ground the main service entrance with two grounding rods, so that will be grounded on it's own.

This is the first time I have installed a service entrance where there is already a shutoff between the meter and the service panel. Is there any differences in terms of installing the service entrance because of that? Do I make any changes to the neutral and grounding bars? Do I keep the neutrals isolated from the grounds?

Doug

dgaulin is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 01:25 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


The meter main combo box is that meter unit will be pretty much permament there ?
If so you will have no issue as long you follow the NEC code on this one.

Any thing after the main breaker at the meter socket locaton all the 120/240 volt circuits must use 4 conductor the code no longer allowed 3 conductor set up so you will denfinetly need two hot conductors 1 netural and 1 ground conductor.

What size conductor you have there ?? and type as well,.

All the breaker boxes you will be installing you have to treat them as subpanels not the main panel rules so that mean you have to keep the neutral and ground conductor seperated at the inside breaker box and of course you will have to buy couple ground bussbar and keep the netural bussbar insolaited { do not use the bonding screw or bonding jumper }

As long you have proper wiring permits you should be fine and you doing all the wiring yourself or have someone doing this for ya ??

At the main meter socket location yeah you will need two ground rods at that location and also at the house as well you will need to sink two more ground rods at the house breaker panel.

And for ground rod conductor you will need 16mm˛ {#6 AWG } unless your inspector requred 25mm˛ {#4 AWG } I will just go with latter and be done with it.

I know you may have more question to come up just ask us we can fill you in more details along the way.

Merci.
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 02:26 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


edited to ensure I do not aid an illegal act

Last edited by nap; 09-23-2010 at 03:35 PM.
nap is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 02:32 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

installing 200 amp panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
Is this your house?
I agree with this question.

If this is not your house, and you have to come here and ask these questions, you should NOT be doing this work as a job for pay.
Speedy Petey is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 02:42 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I agree with this question.

If this is not your house, and you have to come here and ask these questions, you should NOT be doing this work as a job for pay.
Yup, and what about this:
Now that the house is shelled in, the contractor wants me to install the 200 amp panel in the basement so we can start wiring the house. He ran the 200 amp wire through conduit into the basement.
And, you can't heat the panel until the inspection is done

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 09-23-2010 at 02:44 PM.
a7ecorsair is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 02:50 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


I am not doing it for pay, not that it's any of your business there Speedy Pete. The information on not needing the ground between the shutoff and the service panel was told to me by the local inspector, so I assumed what he was talking about is valid. I already knew that I need to isolate the ground in the main panel because the main panel is now a sub-panel. By the way, you don't have to be licensed in New York to work in the electrical business.

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 09-29-2010 at 06:58 AM. Reason: Comments
dgaulin is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 02:57 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgaulin View Post
I am not doing it for pay, not that it's any of your business there Speedy Pete. The information on not needing the ground between the shutoff and the service panel was told to me by the local inspector, so I assumed what he was talking about is valid. I already knew that I need to isolate the ground in the main panel because the main panel is now a sub-panel. By the way, you don't have to be licensed in New York to work in the electrical business.
In this meter panel you refer to, is there 200 amp breaker or is it a disconnect switch?

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 09-29-2010 at 06:58 AM. Reason: edit quote
a7ecorsair is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 03:05 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


It is an all-in-one with a 200 amp breaker.
dgaulin is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 03:34 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgaulin View Post
I am not doing it for pay, not that it's any of your business there Speedy Pete. The information on not needing the ground between the shutoff and the service panel was told to me by the local inspector, so I assumed what he was talking about is valid. I already knew that I need to isolate the ground in the main panel because the main panel is now a sub-panel. By the way, you don't have to be licensed in New York to work in the electrical business.
actually, it is our business. It is illegal in almost every state for a person to work on a house that is not their primary residence unless they are licensed as a contractor or an electrician. I doubt NY is any different in intent.

since the local yokels seem to be willing to give you directions (even incorrect direction), I'll leave it with what I have given already.

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 10-03-2010 at 07:32 PM. Reason: correct quote
nap is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 03:56 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


Nope. No license needed in NY. Plumbing yes, electrical no. You only need to get a permit from the municipality that you are working in. And yes, I am a licensed contractor in NY.
dgaulin is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 04:12 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


And by the way, you guys must be bored if all you do is sit around busting people's chops on a chat board. God forbid you just answer the question and give a little help to someone.
dgaulin is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 04:35 PM   #12
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgaulin View Post
And by the way, you guys must be bored if all you do is sit around busting people's chops on a chat board. God forbid you just answer the question and give a little help to someone.
we simply do not want to help a person break the law, or even worse, injure or kill somebody.

and now you claim to be a contractor yet you aren't getting paid for this. Things that make you go hhmmm.


many individual municipalities require an electricians license. I'll err on the side of caution.

a pro should have the resources available to them without having to resort to a DIY forum. That is a sign you should not be doing what you are.


Oh, and to your claims:

Quote:
From: "dos.sm.InetLcns" <InetLcns @ dos.state.ny.us>

Subject: RE: Does NY State License Plumbers, Electricians, or other skilled trades?

Thank you for your email.
Please be advised there is not a state license required in order to work
as a plumber, electrician, or contractor. These individuals are
registered within the county in which they do business. You will need
to contact the local government such as the county, village.
nap is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 04:48 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


Well, I'll be signing off now. I need to go enjoy my house on the lake. You can continue existing in your cynical life browsing the chat boards and working as a lackey for your local residential rlectrical contractor. Bye bye now.
dgaulin is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to dgaulin For This Useful Post:
nap (09-23-2010)
Old 09-23-2010, 05:43 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,743
Rewards Points: 0
Default

installing 200 amp panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgaulin View Post
Well, I'll be signing off now. I need to go enjoy my house on the lake. You can continue existing in your cynical life browsing the chat boards and working as a lackey for your local residential rlectrical contractor. Bye bye now.
What county in NY do you do electrical work in so I don't inadvertently hire you to do my electrical work.
Jim F is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim F For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-23-2010)
Old 09-23-2010, 06:47 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

installing 200 amp panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgaulin View Post
Nope. No license needed in NY. Plumbing yes, electrical no. You only need to get a permit from the municipality that you are working in. And yes, I am a licensed contractor in NY.
Yup. Another typical f-ing NY hack GC/carpenter who thinks electric is no big deal so they'll do it themselves and make the $$ that the real electrician would have made.

I agree, if you were ANY sort of a professional you would NOT be coming to DIY message boards learning how to do a trade.

I deal with hacks like you all the time buddy. Usually it is fixing the screw ups that you pull. I do charge more for that BTW, and that is not sneaky.

Speedy Petey is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-23-2010)
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to a 200 amp panel hartkem Electrical 0 08-01-2010 04:03 PM
Sub Panel install eagertolearn Electrical 17 01-23-2010 05:39 PM
Panel Placement In Outbuilding smitty286 Electrical 3 03-31-2008 12:20 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 09:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.