Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2008, 09:10 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbia Heights/NE Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 86
Share |
Default

Installing 20 amp circuits in metal boxes, is 14 ga OK for ground pigtails?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
I often see 14 for gnd pigtails. Not code compliant though. It makes the recep a bit more manageable. Actually, one inspector recently OK'd it.
Not going to do that though, not if it's not NEC.

Quote:
I often put two/three cables under a staple. After several thousand staples, it's never been an issue.


Quote:
Install the ceiling boxes on the side of the joist so your fixture will mount flush to the bottoms of the joists.
I don't care about flushness, I care about a fire hazard. If I have to mount them to the side, I'll need to drill holes in the boxes I have, or buy new ones.

Quote:
Can't use NM cable in unfinished garages here.
I see that all the time here, even in new construction, so I doubt that will be a problem. I suppose I should call my city to double check, but it's too late tonight. If I have to start running conduit, that would really change the scope of this project. Therefore...


Thanks again, everyone!

Last edited by thegonagle; 11-13-2008 at 09:13 PM.
thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 05:56 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbia Heights/NE Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 86
Default

Installing 20 amp circuits in metal boxes, is 14 ga OK for ground pigtails?


I've made a decision: I'm going to buy 4 new ceiling boxes (that have brackets for mounting on the side of the joist) and be done with that. If it's worth doing, it's worth doing well. It's only 8-12 extra bucks for shiny new boxes at Menard's. I know I'll be happiest in the long run if I don't skimp on the parts; I'll be confident that they're safe.

BTW, the staples I already have are GB brand 1/2-inch staples, and they don't mention anywhere on the package how many cables they are supposed to secure at once.

Am I to assume, then, that they are only good for one cable per staple? If so, can anybody please recommend a better staple that is rated for two cables?



EDIT: Can I find those Briscon staples at Lowes, HD, Ace, or True Value? (I didn't see any at Menard's other than GB.)

Last edited by thegonagle; 11-14-2008 at 06:29 AM.
thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 07:34 AM   #18
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Installing 20 amp circuits in metal boxes, is 14 ga OK for ground pigtails?


Quote:
Originally Posted by thegonagle View Post
I've made a decision: I'm going to buy 4 new ceiling boxes (that have brackets for mounting on the side of the joist) and be done with that. If it's worth doing, it's worth doing well. It's only 8-12 extra bucks for shiny new boxes at Menard's. I know I'll be happiest in the long run if I don't skimp on the parts; I'll be confident that they're safe.

BTW, the staples I already have are GB brand 1/2-inch staples, and they don't mention anywhere on the package how many cables they are supposed to secure at once.

Am I to assume, then, that they are only good for one cable per staple? If so, can anybody please recommend a better staple that is rated for two cables?



EDIT: Can I find those Briscon staples at Lowes, HD, Ace, or True Value? (I didn't see any at Menard's other than GB.)
Like stated, just about all staples are rated for at least 2 cables.



Check with you local inspector about exposed nm wiring in an unfinished garage.

In my locality, as long as it is run through the studs and not stapled to the outside face of them it is acceptable to have exposed wiring.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire size for 300watt trans, 3 way 100ft Al the Diy guy Electrical 16 03-22-2008 08:46 PM
plastic or metal boxes for outlet wiring? yummy mummy Building & Construction 9 12-31-2006 01:37 PM
Plastic vs metal switch boxes tropic home Electrical 1 11-29-2006 05:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.