Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2013, 10:35 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


That is an easy fix. Put reducing washers a.k.a. chinese money in there to cover up the chewed up part.

Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:03 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Hey Everyone.....

I would like to thanks kbsparky especially for suggesting the octagon blank plate. I finally got around to making the modifications to my mess. I purchased a nice hole saw set to make a perfect cut. I should have done that in the first place, well you cant cry over spilt milk...

Ok.. So here are some pics of the fix... let me know what you think.
Attached Thumbnails
Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???-photo-2-.jpg   Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???-photo-1-.jpg   Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???-photo.jpg   Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???-photo-3-.jpg  
Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Durkis007 For This Useful Post:
kbsparky (01-23-2013)
Old 01-22-2013, 09:05 PM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Much better, but the locknuts are on backwards.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (01-23-2013)
Old 01-22-2013, 09:10 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Thanks KBuz.... Will make that change before I do the wiring.
Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:00 PM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Looks great once you switch the lock nuts like kbuz said. Everyone makes mistakes and we never stop learning. Hopefully you will post some pictures when you are done.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:31 AM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Quote:
Originally Posted by Durkis007 View Post
Hey Everyone.....

I would like to thanks kbsparky especially for suggesting the octagon blank plate. I finally got around to making the modifications to my mess. I purchased a nice hole saw set to make a perfect cut. I should have done that in the first place, well you cant cry over spilt milk...

Ok.. So here are some pics of the fix... let me know what you think.
Yup, now things are looking MUCH better!

I won't mention those lockrings, since others have already done so ....

Background:

I do a lot of mobile/modular homes. Many times, when we arrive to make the hookup, we will discover the main conduit the hangs under the house was pushed UP into the panel. This condition resulted in the concentric knockouts being separated, and often times the entire bottom of the panel was bent up, etc.

We would have to hammer the bottom of the panel enclosure back down, and then use an octagon plate to "repair" the now too-large opening where the conduit terminates.

The end result is similar to your completed repairs.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:45 PM   #22
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Not sure if you have locknuts on the outside of those boxes but you may want to install a grounding bushing on one side.

deverson is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generac 10KW generator and Generac RTS12EZA1 transfer switch. exhdo1 Electrical 8 11-30-2011 02:33 PM
generator transfer switch chuck172 Electrical 8 06-30-2011 03:34 PM
Custom wiring a generator to a transfer switch robojoe_fl Electrical 4 06-08-2011 12:36 AM
3 way switch with pass through power connection issue ccmbee Electrical 2 09-28-2010 02:38 PM
Generator with 2 transfer switches? Isaac-1 Electrical 4 03-16-2009 07:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.