Installed A Transfer Switch... Will This Pass Code ??? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2013, 12:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Hi All..

Ive read the forum for a while. But this will be my first post.

With the recent passing of sandy, and having electrical cords all over the place with the generator, I decided to install a transfer switch. I tried to get a professional in, but could only get one guy to actually show let alone give a call back and he wanted 1200 for the labor !!

Anyways... So far I flush mounted the Gen-Tran switch next to the service panel. I initially thought the knock outs on the two panels would line up, but they didn't. I fear that I created a problem that wont pass inspection.

As you can see in the photos I ran a piece of conduit through the stud between the two panels, but its not pretty.

I did apply for a permit with the building department, so this will be inspected.
Attached Thumbnails
Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???-photo.jpg   Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???-photo-2.jpg   Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???-photo-3.jpg  

Advertisement

Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 01:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


my gut says no. but i am no electrician

Advertisement

redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:11 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Looks like a hack job. My gut says the inspector won't go for this.

"Conduits shall be properly terminated into the enclosures...."
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-06-2013), HIVOLT (01-05-2013), micromind (01-05-2013), mpoulton (01-06-2013)
Old 01-05-2013, 06:42 AM   #4
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Looks like a hack job. My gut says the inspector won't go for this.

"Conduits shall be properly terminated into the enclosures...."
I agree.
Where are you located that only 1 Electrician would get back to you.
Down by me there does not seem to be that issue.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NJMarine For This Useful Post:
HIVOLT (01-05-2013)
Old 01-05-2013, 06:49 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


It would fail without question in my parts.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:45 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


How did you get such a ragged hole in the side of the breaker panel?

Use a nipple (not the plumbing kind) threaded on both ends rather than that piece of conduit. Unmount and move the transfer switch box a tad so the nipple fits.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-05-2013 at 07:48 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:55 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Personally, I would run a piece of 6/3 NM. Take out the sub and close the holes you are currently using for the conduit. Then knock out a 3/4 KO. Use a piece of 6/3 NM (edit: with listed connectors)

I would be interested in seeing a better picture of the subpanel as it appears to be that you are landing the grounds on the neutral bar.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 01-05-2013 at 08:11 AM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:09 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 515
Rewards Points: 292
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Hack job times ten. What did you cut the hole in the main panel with, your teeth? That's not gonna be an easy fix without a slug buster.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:27 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Square D makes a mighty fine interlock kit:

http://members.rennlist.org/warren/SQDinterlockkit.pdf
Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:35 AM   #10
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


This has no chance of passing a with a poor inspector let alone a decent one. Very hack!

Last edited by deverson; 01-05-2013 at 12:57 PM.
deverson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 06:23 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Okay okay... I didnt say it was a pretty job. LOL

But ive been thinking about this all day, after reading your posts.

First I know I need to close up the mess I created on the main panel side.

Can I use a square piece of sheet metal and screw it into the panel? then mark with a pencil from the switch side and drill a clean hole in the sheet metal ?

I think AllanJ has a good idea using a threaded sleeve and tightening it on both sides sounds like a good idea?

Side bar... We are located in ocean county by the shore, and all the electricians have been super busy with jobs located on the barrier islands with all the flood damage.
Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 06:36 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


I have used blank cover plates to "repair" such damages to panel box enclosures in the past. I'd try using the 4" octagon blank plates, which may fit without having to cut them down first.

You can get them at most hardware or home-horror stores for under a buck a piece.



A rigid pipe nipple with lock rings on both sides of each enclosure and insulating bushings would make this installation much more palatable.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
Durkis007 (01-22-2013), micromind (01-05-2013), mpoulton (01-06-2013)
Old 01-05-2013, 07:23 PM   #13
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


You might have go out of ocean county, but I know there some electricians in Monmouth county that could probably help. You do not have an email in your profile, so I could not contact you directly.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:57 PM   #14
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


I'm not a licensed electrician, but that will be a "NO", in capital letters. You can probably save yourself by slipping a proper length threaded nipple through there, with pvc anti chaffe collars screwed on the ends. I'd try to "dress up" the panel penetration that you chewed your way through with a screwdriver or chisel with a bead or 2 of gray or silver silicone.
troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:24 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installed a Transfer Switch... Will this pass code ???


Quote:
Originally Posted by troubleseeker View Post
I'd try to "dress up" the panel penetration that you chewed your way through with a screwdriver or chisel with a bead or 2 of gray or silver silicone.
Uggghh. That will look worse and attract more unwanted attention from the inspector in terms of suitability for application inside a service disconnect panel. Plus, out-gassing of the silicone as it cures is no friend to electrical contacts.

Wrooster

Advertisement

wrooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generac 10KW generator and Generac RTS12EZA1 transfer switch. exhdo1 Electrical 8 11-30-2011 03:33 PM
generator transfer switch chuck172 Electrical 8 06-30-2011 04:34 PM
Custom wiring a generator to a transfer switch robojoe_fl Electrical 4 06-08-2011 01:36 AM
3 way switch with pass through power connection issue ccmbee Electrical 2 09-28-2010 03:38 PM
Generator with 2 transfer switches? Isaac-1 Electrical 4 03-16-2009 08:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts