Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 10:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


I replaced an electrical outlet in the living room (connected to the foyer circuit breaker, however) to one with the USB plugins in the middle. When I opened the old receptacle, it had 5 wires: 2 whites, 2 blacks, and ground. All of them were attached to the old receptacle. The new receptacle only had 3 wire connections so I connected one of the black, one of the white, and the ground and then pushed the other black and white back through the hole at the back so that they weren't touching (I'll cap them tomorrow when I can get to the store.)

Okay, so here's the problem - now the foyer light (a chandelier type with 5 bulbs) and the porch light won't switch on anymore. I've tried fully resetting the foyer breaker a few times to no avail. I can't think of what went wrong - does it have something to do with those two wires I left unconnected? The new receptacle works just fine, by the way, and it's on the same breaker.

Thanks ahead of time for any help!

-Adam
linus72982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:08 PM   #2
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by linus72982 View Post
The new receptacle only had 3 wire connections so I connected one of the black, one of the white, and the ground and then pushed the other black and white back through the hole at the back so that they weren't touching (I'll cap them tomorrow when I can get to the store.)

-Adam
The wires you decline to attach, probably, or more likely was receiving power through the outlet to supply to the rest of the circuit, which is why your lights (foyer and outside wall) are not working.

How many terminal screws are on the new receptacle? and is a duplex receptacle your replacing?
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:12 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


No, it's not a duplex (if I'm interpreting what duplex means). There are only 3 points on the receptacle - black, white, and green. The old receptacle had 5 points. So, if I want to keep this receptacle, what can I do to keep the future lights on the circuit active? Just connect the extra black to the same wire nut as the black going to the receptacle and same for white?
linus72982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:20 PM   #4
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


you will need a short piece of electrical romex wire, either 14/2 or 12/2 depending on what is currently there. Cut the wire approx 3 -4 inches, remove the white and black wires from the romex and strip both ends of both wires. Wire nut one end of the black wire to the two black wires in the box, the other end loop it and secure it to the proper terminal. Do the same for the white wire -
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:31 PM   #5
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,060
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


Those wires you left unconnected fed power to your lights.
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:32 PM   #6
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


Does your new outlet look like this?
Attached Images
 
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:33 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


I did it and it worked. Thing is, instead of the romex wire you suggested, I just put all three ends (black, black, and receptacle black) into one wire nut and twisted down. I did the same for the whites. All the lights came back on and everything seems kosher.

Is it safe to keep it this way or does the romex wire make it safer?
linus72982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:35 PM   #8
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,060
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by linus72982 View Post
I did it and it worked. Thing is, instead of the romex wire you suggested, I just put all three ends (black, black, and receptacle black) into one wire nut and twisted down. I did the same for the whites. All the lights came back on and everything seems kosher.

Is it safe to keep it this way or does the romex wire make it safer?
If the receptacle that your using came with wires attached to it then your fine. Don't forget the ground!
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:37 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


More like this one ?




If so follow Fltdek's instruction it will be very specfic answer there and got it correct at the point.

So you will have to make a pigtail for this device to get the rest of the circuit working.

Two short peices of conductor #12 or #14 depending on what it is on plus 2 wire nuts either yellow one or red one depending on size again.

Once you get the pigtail done the rest of the circuit will be working properly.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
fltdek (01-21-2013)
Old 01-21-2013, 11:41 PM   #10
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
If the receptacle that your using came with wires attached to it then your fine. Don't forget the ground!

Pretty much sums it up, but would be nice if you could post a pic just so we can see what your working with..
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:45 PM   #11
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Default

Installed a new receptacle, now foyer lights don't work?


The mentioning of USB in the OP threw me off for a minute...although I have seen these in stores and online, just haven't come across them in any homes.....yet
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electical, electrical wiring, light receptacle, outlet, receptacle


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice for installed new receptacle in cantilevered wall dwoloz Electrical 2 06-03-2012 09:38 AM
Lights Work without a breaker!? LightShifter Electrical 3 04-22-2011 01:33 AM
photo cell lights thst only work sometimes... kemerick Electrical 10 11-10-2007 11:29 AM
Work lights in basement with drop ceiling fw2007 Electrical 2 10-20-2007 09:39 AM
Hall lights don't work. jagrunner2602 Electrical 13 05-02-2007 11:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.