Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2011, 04:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Installed new fluorescent fixture but lights are dim...


I am replacing pull-string bulb fixtures in my basemenmt with new 2-bulb 32W T8 fluorescent fixtures. The first one is working perfectly. The second one is only about half the brightness of the first. Could it be grounded wrong? I'm using BX and running it from a switch so I can light the whole liine with a single switch instead of "pull-stringing" each light along the entire 35' of basement. I tried fiddling with the bulbs but they still are darker than the other. Should the bare ground wire not be loose inside the covered box in the center or???
montero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 05:28 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Installed new fluorescent fixture but lights are dim...


Grounding isn't part of the current flow. You probably have something wired wrong. How many of these fixtures will you be installing? Are you adding cable or is there an existing ceiling box for each new fixture?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 05:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Installed new fluorescent fixture but lights are dim...


Its an unfinished ceiling so I'm fastening the fixtures to the studs and attaching the BX with the connectors to the top of each fixture. I'm planning on 6 fixtures total.
I took the cover off of my wiring and checked eveything, put different bulbs in and it works normally now.
montero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 05:39 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Installed new fluorescent fixture but lights are dim...


-sorry, I'm adding NEW BX along the line. I'm not fooling with the old. I'm running it from the existing BX where it comes from the box, has two switches, one at the top of the stairs, and one at the bottom.
montero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 08:52 AM
Wiring 4 lights to 1 switch...Please help! Driven2race Electrical 14 01-17-2010 06:03 PM
4 tube fluorescent fixture with two bulbs? dyeager535 Electrical 2 02-02-2009 05:51 PM
Correcting 40+ years of screwy wiring Badfish740 Electrical 3 12-28-2008 09:19 PM
How to switch fluorescent lights Carissa Electrical 3 08-16-2008 02:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.