Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-03-2006, 12:01 PM   #1

Share |

Installation of new phone jack

Hi,

I'd like to install a phone jack in my bedroom wall. I have no experience wtih this, but my understanding is that there should be telephone wire running through the walls? How difficult of a procedure is this?

Tx!

alvanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 02:42 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

Installing a residential phone jack is relatively simple (4 color-coded wires within the phone line).
You don't necessarily have to run it through the walls (studs). You can run a phone line behind baseboard; or even easier, tucked under the edge of carpet behind the tack strip; under the floor if over a basement or crawlspace; or up through the attic and drop it down the right wall cavities with a weighted string.
You will have to tap onto the nearest phone jack and run the phone line to the new phone jack. The jack connections are marked for each color. Just put that color wire behind that screw on the jacks.
Good luck!
Mike

Last edited by Mike Swearingen; 03-03-2006 at 02:46 PM.
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 08:18 PM   #3
registered