Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2012, 06:29 AM   #1
Retired in Nam
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nha Trang, Vietnam
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Install outlets in block wall


I'm living in Vietnam now and I'm getting ready to build a house using regular Cinder Block instead of the little redish colored block they use here. The block here is only covered with a thin coat of Portland cement and fine grade sand mixture, then painted and this block will be the same. So, could someone explain to me how to install electrical outlets and switches in the cinder block or direct me to a video? Thank you for your time and effort.

jrmckee58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:06 AM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Install outlets in block wall


might consider dropping the wires down then just mount them into a box on the cinder block,inside the block might have to just chisel a square...might make a template out of 1/4 wood to fit the box then spray paint the squares around where you want them...if the walls are being built,take the block and do it on a bench then do a bunch of them for the switches and sockets...as you build it keeping in mind the wire drops or coming up from a basement.YOUTUBE has a ton of ideas going into tiles concrete walls for such..easiest seem to be do that template then use masonary bits drilling holes around then chip it out so the blocks can be grabbed during building


Last edited by biggles; 08-15-2012 at 07:53 AM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
jrmckee58 (08-15-2012)
Old 08-15-2012, 10:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,963
Rewards Points: 3,042
Default

Install outlets in block wall


The best way would be to build a wall out of 2 X 4's on the inside, that way you could insulate and have a place to run wires and boxes.

You could also just flush mount the boxs and use EMT tubing to run the wires.
Not pretty but cheap.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
jrmckee58 (08-15-2012)
Old 08-15-2012, 11:14 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Install outlets in block wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
The best way would be to build a wall out of 2 X 4's on the inside, that way you could insulate and have a place to run wires and boxes..
This is how it is done. Or you can fur the block walls instead of using 2x4's.
The only place you need to mount a box into the block is outside.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drywall over 4" block wall base JustADoc Drywall & Plaster 7 09-12-2011 10:47 PM
Replace Sill Plate to Basement Block Wall - No anchor bolts DoItMyselfToo Building & Construction 4 09-10-2011 03:07 PM
Vertical Rebar Layout in Block Wall Footing 99altrade Building & Construction 6 08-12-2011 09:32 PM
Advice on retaining wall replacement (pics inside) eastie Building & Construction 0 04-05-2010 10:32 AM
Fire blocking a wood stud wall built against cinder block. BasementVirgin Building & Construction 1 10-05-2009 11:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.