Install New Motion Light, Where Should I Connect It? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2012, 10:44 PM   #1
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Install new motion light, where should I connect it?

Hi Everyone,

My first post here! Looks like there is a lot of great information out there, if this has already been covered than I apologize. I'm looking to install an outdoor flood motion light in the backyard. I live in a one story ranch with basement (if that helps) and accessible attic.

There are no lights on the back of the house currently, however there are two GFI outlets on the far ends of the exterior. I am planning to install the light on the soffit in the center of the building above a bedroom window.

My question is, where should I tie into the electrical system? Does it make the most sense to run new wires from the panel (200 amps!), piggy back off the circuit in the joining bedroom, or possibly the easiest choice would be to piggy back the attic light wiring. It's already accessible and fairly close to where the light would be installed. Any thoughts on how I should go the best, safest, method?

I have minimal experience with eletrical work and have only replaced outlets and did some wiring runs back in high school, never added to an existing system. Im also reading through some books. Lastly, feel free to suggest any particularly good motion lights, brand or type of wiring I should use, etc.

Thanks in advance!


kanigit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 11:09 PM   #2
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,450
Rewards Points: 3,002

Install new motion light, where should I connect it?

I would prefer to piggy back it off of the attic light circuit.

It is okay to piggy back it off of the bedroom circuit except if the outdoor light uses significant power (such as more than 200 watts) you increase the chance you would trip the breaker if a lot of things (like audio/video or a hair dryer) were being used in the bedrooms.


Do you get coverage you can count on? From the bag of fertilizer? From your lawn sprinklers?
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 06:55 AM   #3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Install new motion light, where should I connect it?


Thanks for your response. I forgot to mention it, the attic light is controlled by a switch from the hallway. I could probably use that for turning off the motion light I suppose and toggle the attic light independently. Not sure if that makes sense.

Do I need to wire the attic junction box in any special way?
kanigit is offline   Reply With Quote

electric , motion , wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 52 11-05-2014 05:28 PM
Dual-brite motion detector light to operate second light? downunder Electrical 2 09-10-2010 04:48 PM
Trying to install a new ceiling light in an old house Yikes Electrical 2 07-26-2010 12:49 AM
Motion Activated Light for Attached Garage jamiedolan Project Showcase 6 07-01-2010 01:52 PM
Motion Sensor to Flood Light Unit TTran Electrical 3 05-31-2008 10:50 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts