Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-25-2012, 09:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Install Exterior Sconce to Garage: No existing light


I bought 2 sconce lights to install on each side of my garage door. I do not need a switch, the lights have a photocell. I am going to run the wires from the lights staight to the breaker box in the garage.

I am having trouble understanding how to intall the lights to the brick. Do I need to drill a 3-4 inch hole with a circular saw into the brick and all the way through the wall? Then install a small box to hold the wires. The sconce would then cover pu the hole. Then basically run the wires to the break box.

Anything helps. My main concern is what size hole to drill into the brick and what type of box to use.

this is the light i bought
http://www.lightingdirect.com/the-gr...utdoor/p309201

thedon502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:27 PM   #2
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Install Exterior Sconce to Garage: No existing light


It would be best to locate a stud from inside the garage first, this way you have somethimg to fasten the new light box to.
Find your desired location and mark out the area to be cut. You can do thos by tracing around the box which will be inserted into the hole.
There are several ways to cut the hole. One would be to drill around the perimeter of the markings every 1/2" with a masonary bit.
With all the holes drilled, simply knock it out with a hammer.
Now fasten the new light box to the stud or wood brace. If using an octogon box, the front rim will sit on top of the brick.

Others may have a better idea, so hang on and choose what works best for your situation.

MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 08:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 159
Default

Install Exterior Sconce to Garage: No existing light


Quote:
Originally Posted by thedon502 View Post
Do I need to drill a 3-4 inch hole with a circular saw into the brick and all the way through the wall?
I would like to see someone try to cut a hole in brick with a circular saw

Last edited by collegetry; 07-26-2012 at 08:20 AM.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Insulation yamster Insulation 0 07-01-2011 01:30 PM
wiring from existing panel to new garage al99m Electrical 8 07-29-2009 08:42 PM
replacing existing light with can light? mferguson0414 Electrical 5 01-23-2009 07:45 AM
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 06:22 PM
Adding a light to an existing 3-way connection nthomp16 Electrical 2 07-21-2008 06:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.