Install Electrical In Brick - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 03:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Install Electrical in brick


Howdy,
I'm not new to electrical however I've never done what I'm trying to do. In our newly renovated basement I want to put an accent wall of full size brick. How do I install the outlets and switches if I don't want anything surface mounted? I am a very visual kind of guy so if you have some web sites or pictures I would appreciate it.

Thanks All ahead of time!

Lefte

Advertisement

Lefte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 04:23 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

Install Electrical in brick


Install the conduit behind the brick with the face of the box flush with the brick.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:53 PM   #3
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Install Electrical in brick


Here ya go!




http://www.amazon.com/Arlington-DHB1.../dp/B004K1G11M
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:55 PM   #4
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Install Electrical in brick


Just curious. Are you building an actual brick wall? If not, why wouldn't use real brick veneers instead of solid brick?
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Install Electrical in brick


We renovated the entire basement. Actually removed the old brick basement and put in wood. I kept the brick to make it remain part of the house once we got to that point in the project. So yes SDSESTER, we are using full size chicago brick from circa 1890. Of course I have much more than I will ever need. What to do with the rest I wonder...

So it's an inside brick accent wall using full size brick. I'm starting to rouch in the wiring and want to have the right boxes and such in place.

I have the site photos here if you care to look:
http://mcnaughtonbasementrenovation.shutterfly.com/

Lefte
Lefte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:36 PM   #6
Member
 
Rochsolid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Install Electrical in brick


Use masonry boxes for your receptacles and switches. Run your conduit in your brick up to the too of your wall. Will there be a dropped ceiling?
Rochsolid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:31 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Install Electrical in brick


I am thinking I'll run the cable through the stud wall to the box, with an extender to make the 3 inch wide brick. I am putting a drop ceiling on one side and drywall on the other.

Thanks everyone..

Lefte

Last edited by Lefte; 11-25-2012 at 01:14 PM. Reason: spelling
Lefte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Rochsolid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Install Electrical in brick


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefte
I am thinking I'll run the cavle through the stud wall to the box, with an extender to make the 3 inch wide brick. I am putting a drop ceiling on one side and drywall on the other.

Thanks everyone..

Lefte
If you use conduit, run it inside the brick and to a 90degree bend at the top of your wall so your EMT stub ends up in your dropped ceiling side

Advertisement

Rochsolid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brick veneer is 4 rows below grade- redo or leave? cbrc5eric Building & Construction 11 12-27-2011 09:09 PM
Electrical Box In Brick (Interior) litleclay Electrical 3 09-12-2011 06:16 PM
Expansion / Contraction 2x4 whitewood studs on brick bpardo Building & Construction 2 08-29-2011 03:22 PM
Electrical oven install ctoph75 Electrical 12 07-11-2011 12:43 PM
Insulating brick above & close to grade Peter Shepherd Building & Construction 1 09-16-2009 07:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts