Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2010, 01:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

install 60 amp double breaker with 6/2 romex


I need to install a 60 amp double breaker using 6/2 Romex, my question is where does the black wire install on the double breaker, top or bottom of the breaker, normally the black is on top and the red wire is on bottom to complete the circuit, however, 6/2 Romex has only black, white and a ground wire, no red wire.

darthyogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 02:12 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

install 60 amp double breaker with 6/2 romex


It makes no difference. Reidentify the white wire with some tape or a marker.

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 03:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default

install 60 amp double breaker with 6/2 romex


Hi brric, when you said to reidenty the white wire(neutral) with tape or marker, do I connect the white wire to the bottom half of the double breaker? Thank you for the info.
darthyogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 04:47 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

install 60 amp double breaker with 6/2 romex


As brric stated, it makes no difference.

In your case the white is being used as a hot, NOT a neutral since this 240v circuit does not use a neutral.

What is this circuit for?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 08:56 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Default

install 60 amp double breaker with 6/2 romex


u need to identify the white wire as a voltage carrying wire at all points that open at jboxes. And it dsont matter black up or down u could use red tape on the white wire.
Kirky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 05:36 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,229
Default

install 60 amp double breaker with 6/2 romex


Good Question Petey ..yeah What is the circuit for?

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire Length AFCI breaker install issue 205bhamjim Electrical 5 02-24-2010 02:33 PM
Wierd Double Pole Breaker Occurance rlemar Electrical 5 02-16-2010 09:43 PM
Double pole breaker v/s single pole breaker schultz56 Electrical 3 02-09-2010 01:12 PM
Double up wire on a breaker 83trekker Electrical 7 02-02-2010 06:51 PM
DIY Breaker Panel Install - Updated Photos jamiedolan Electrical 31 01-08-2009 01:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.