Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2010, 09:16 AM   #16
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Share |
Default

The inspector says I need a switch....


For oil furnaces and boilers, the "remote" switch requirement is in the fire code (NFPA 31, 4-3.1), not the NEC. AFAIK there is no similar requirement for gas appliances.

__________________
Home Inspections, Infrared (Thermal Imaging) Leak Identification and Inspection Services, Roof, Attic, Building, Basement and Foundation Moisture Intrusion and Water Leak Inspections, Troubled Building Consultations - Serving Chicago and Suburbs http://paragoninspects.com/
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 09:20 AM   #17
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

The inspector says I need a switch....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Odd I always thought the switch had to be away from the furnace. If the furnace is malfunctioning in a hazardous way, shooting sparks and about to blow up, the last thing you want to do is go CLOSER just so you can turn it off!
No shirt!! That made no sense to me either.

TJ: Thanks dude! I called the furnace company that installed this originally to have them come give me an estimate to finish this mess. If it's under XXX amount and they can finance us, I'll have them do it just to make time so I can do all the OTHER things I have to do before sub-zero weather comes.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 03:05 PM   #18
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

The inspector says I need a switch....


Well, I must thank you all for the time you've spent helping me! Unfortunately, the existing furnace will fail regardless of whatever I do. Po(

sooooooo.... it looks like I sell my other leg and one of my kids and we'll be getting a 92% or better installed. Anyone need a good furnace for a mobile home? only a few years old? LOL Craigslist, here I come....

The good news? At least I don't have to punch another hole in my roof, AND "I" won't have to do the work underneath!
Plus the savings on using less propane....

See? There's a bright side to everything if you look hard enough. Po)

Thanks again to all who spent time reading this thread and tried to help.

DM (the eternal optimist)

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.