Inspection - Install Outlets? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2008, 10:23 PM   #1
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Inspection - Install outlets?


I am calling for my first inspection this week. I have about 40 outlets and about 10 switches wired into my addition. I installed a few outlets and switches to make sure everything was working okay. Is the inspector just checking the rough at round one or should I have ALL the switches/outlets installed too?

I used a 5/8 bit for all my holes. A few of them have 3 wires running through one hole, is this okay?

Any other things to remember? This is my first major wiring job. Thanks

Cheers

Advertisement

jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 06:16 AM   #2
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Inspection - Install outlets?


It will vary by inspector, but rough in should have no devices terminated.

I'm not sure about the 3 cables through a 5/8... I never put more than 2 but I am not sure what the actual code is.

Advertisement

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 10:34 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Inspection - Install outlets?


Here in Upstate SC. all devices such as switches and recepts must be wired and installed. No cover plates. Panels must be made up with cover off. Fixtures do not need to be hung. Range hoods also do not need to be installed.
It's diferrent everywhere you go. AHJ makes the rules, we just follow them.

PS.....We only have two inspections. Rough and final.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 12:12 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Inspection - Install outlets?


If you look like your avatar you should have called me. I would have wired the place for free.

On the rough-in inspection no devices will be installed in the boxes. 5/8 holes for (3) 12 or 14 romex cables is no problem. The inspector will be looking for the 6" of wire at the boxes, wire routing, staples, receptacle outlet placement, required outlets, proper box types for fans and fixtures, wire size, and other things.

I think JV is referring to a finish inspection. You will need no devices and no wiring in the panel. He or she will only wish to inspect things which will be covered up by drywall and other coverings. The rough inspection is basically permission to hang the drywall and close the walls.

Good luck and let us know how it comes out.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 12:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Inspection - Install outlets?


Quote:
Here in Upstate SC. all devices such as switches and recepts must be wired and installed
How do they drywall properly with devices installed??????
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 07:45 AM   #6
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Inspection - Install outlets?


Thanks for the tips.

jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 10:20 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Inspection - Install outlets?


It is a shame that there are inspectors that would require parts of the finish electric (receps, switches) to be done at rough-in. Those are things that should be checked at final.

As an inspector, there are two things I'm always looking for that the receptacle or some switches would obscure...

1) mechanical connection of the all of the grounds together (wire nut or crimp)
2) bonding of the box, if it is a metal box

I've encountered a lot of DIY-er jobs that installed everything for rough-in, and I made due, but prefer empty boxes.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 12:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Inspection - Install outlets?


It is the rough in I was referring too in my post. But that is only true in the county next to mine. In my county you don't install devices for rough ins. That is why I mentioned the diferrences in the AHJ's in our area.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 06:29 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Inspection - Install outlets?


I recently had my (first... ) rough in inspection. I called the inspection office and asked what they "prefer" to see. They gave me a few options in order of their preference, but they understand things may be different depending on the project. I think the call is appreciated and they were very cool.

Advertisement

steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about wiring outlets together firemanpato Electrical 5 01-05-2008 04:52 PM
Can a diyer install electrical outlets? yummy mummy Building & Construction 12 12-23-2006 07:54 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 07:02 AM
two GFCI outlets at bath vanity Hickory Electrical 6 12-18-2005 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts