DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Electrical (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/)
-   -   Inspection - Install outlets? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/inspection-install-outlets-19883/)

jelly 04-13-2008 09:23 PM

Inspection - Install outlets?
 
I am calling for my first inspection this week. I have about 40 outlets and about 10 switches wired into my addition. I installed a few outlets and switches to make sure everything was working okay. Is the inspector just checking the rough at round one or should I have ALL the switches/outlets installed too?

I used a 5/8 bit for all my holes. A few of them have 3 wires running through one hole, is this okay?

Any other things to remember? This is my first major wiring job. Thanks

Cheers

CowboyAndy 04-14-2008 05:16 AM

It will vary by inspector, but rough in should have no devices terminated.

I'm not sure about the 3 cables through a 5/8... I never put more than 2 but I am not sure what the actual code is.

J. V. 04-14-2008 09:34 AM

Here in Upstate SC. all devices such as switches and recepts must be wired and installed. No cover plates. Panels must be made up with cover off. Fixtures do not need to be hung. Range hoods also do not need to be installed.
It's diferrent everywhere you go. AHJ makes the rules, we just follow them.

PS.....We only have two inspections. Rough and final.

jrclen 04-14-2008 11:12 AM

If you look like your avatar you should have called me. I would have wired the place for free. :laughing:

On the rough-in inspection no devices will be installed in the boxes. 5/8 holes for (3) 12 or 14 romex cables is no problem. The inspector will be looking for the 6" of wire at the boxes, wire routing, staples, receptacle outlet placement, required outlets, proper box types for fans and fixtures, wire size, and other things.

I think JV is referring to a finish inspection. You will need no devices and no wiring in the panel. He or she will only wish to inspect things which will be covered up by drywall and other coverings. The rough inspection is basically permission to hang the drywall and close the walls.

Good luck and let us know how it comes out.

220/221 04-14-2008 11:21 AM

Quote:

Here in Upstate SC. all devices such as switches and recepts must be wired and installed
How do they drywall properly with devices installed??????

jelly 04-15-2008 06:45 AM

Thanks for the tips.

:)

Termite 04-15-2008 09:20 AM

It is a shame that there are inspectors that would require parts of the finish electric (receps, switches) to be done at rough-in. Those are things that should be checked at final.

As an inspector, there are two things I'm always looking for that the receptacle or some switches would obscure...

1) mechanical connection of the all of the grounds together (wire nut or crimp)
2) bonding of the box, if it is a metal box

I've encountered a lot of DIY-er jobs that installed everything for rough-in, and I made due, but prefer empty boxes.

J. V. 04-15-2008 11:20 AM

It is the rough in I was referring too in my post. But that is only true in the county next to mine. In my county you don't install devices for rough ins. That is why I mentioned the diferrences in the AHJ's in our area.

steve1234 04-15-2008 05:29 PM

I recently had my (first...:( ) rough in inspection. I called the inspection office and asked what they "prefer" to see. They gave me a few options in order of their preference, but they understand things may be different depending on the project. I think the call is appreciated and they were very cool.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved