Inside The Breaker Pannel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2004, 11:03 PM   #1
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


Are grd and nuetral connected to each other in the breaker pannel?

Thanks

Advertisement

  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 03:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


No. Should be a lug bar for each. I've seen some where the grounds all tie into one thing.. but not too often.

Advertisement

hatchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 01:03 PM   #3
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


Old way, yes. New way, no. :confused:
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:09 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


In the main panel in the house the neutrals and grounds go to the same bar(s). The neutral bar is bonded to the panel case by either a strap or screw.

After the first overcurrent device(main breaker) the grounds and neutrals must be kept isolated. As in the case of a sub-panel.

Separate structures off the same service have different rules.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:15 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
In the main panel in the house the neutrals and grounds go to the same bar(s). The neutral bar is bonded to the panel case by either a strap or screw.

After the first overcurrent device(main breaker) the grounds and neutrals must be kept isolated. As in the case of a sub-panel.

Separate structures off the same service have different rules.
I am installing a ceiling fixture and the box in the ceiling has 4 wires, a white, a black and a red and a ground. The light has two wall switches to control it. My fixture only has three wires, a white and a black and a ground.

When installing it, where do I connect the red wire?
Cregan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:23 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


Cregan, I answered on your other post so we don't hijack this thread.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 09:44 PM   #7
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered
Are grd and nuetral connected to each other in the breaker pannel?

Thanks

Listen to Speedy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 10:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


So in my new Square D QO 200a 40 circuit panels, there are 4 bars on the neutral circuit. So what you're saying is just connect all the grounds and neutrals to those bars anywhere?

I was originally under the impression that the grounds and neutrals were on seperate bars and those bars were connected or "bonded".

One more question -- I'm installing two 200a QO panels. Do I run two SE's from the meter and treat each of these panels as a main panel?

Thanks,

David
Patriot_RAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 12:09 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,388
Rewards Points: 3,570
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


If this panel is your main panel and first place of disconnect after the meter then yes you can connect the grounds and neutrals in the same bus bars. Only one neutral per screw is permitted.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 09:14 PM   #10
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cregan View Post
I am installing a ceiling fixture and the box in the ceiling has 4 wires, a white, a black and a red and a ground. The light has two wall switches to control it. My fixture only has three wires, a white and a black and a ground.

When installing it, where do I connect the red wire?
Just leave the red wire capped off like it was . It is fairly common to wire this way to ceiling boxes. The red wire would become a switch leg to control the fan separate from the lights if a ceiling fan was hung there.

I assummed the red wire was not connected originally or you would have known what it was connected to.
troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 09:23 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


Seeker, you do realize you are replying to an almost 3 year old post, which was also originally a duplicate, don't you?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 10:50 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Seeker, you do realize you are replying to an almost 3 year old post, which was also originally a duplicate, don't you?
Look at the bright side -- at least the original question was eventually answered.

I have one more question. If these two 200a panels are both wired directly from the meter base, do you bond the neutral/ground as if they are both main panels, or do you treat one as a sub.

I think I know the answer, but want to be sure. Also -- what meter base do you guys recommend for this application?

Thanks,

David
Patriot_RAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 11:14 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Inside the breaker pannel


The two 200 amp panels are BOTH treated as main panels. Both bonded, and "grounded".

A standard 320 amp meter base is typically used. You can get double lugs for both the line and load sides if you are also doing a parallel lateral.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
Zinsco breaker boxes and breakers. evosounds Electrical 3 07-29-2007 07:08 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 08:48 PM
Breaker keeps being thrown (solution?) JH7800 Electrical 4 06-28-2006 04:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts