Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2007, 12:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 500
Default

input voltage/size?


I need to put in an outlet for a miller welder that is 230 volts and has an input amperes at 53. The outlet is only going to be about 6 ft. from the sub panel. From what i read i need a 50 amp three wire recep with 6 gauge wire running to it? Just checking to make sure this is what i need to do this correctly. Thanks.


Last edited by ponch37300; 12-03-2007 at 02:17 PM.
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 04:25 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,041
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

input voltage/size?


Poncho does this welder have a cord and plug on it or do you need to do that also? Normally with welders with duty cycles less than 100% we install a 6-50 r and 6 awg for a welder with a 53 amp input. You can serve it with a 6 awg nm-b cable and a 50 or 60 amp breaker.

Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 05:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 500
Default

input voltage/size?


The welder doesn't have a plug on it now. Just a 10 ft or so cord sticking out the back. So i will be getting a plug for that to. I looked for the twist lock at HD and they didn't have them. Thanks for your help again.
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 07:06 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,041
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

input voltage/size?


Poncho it doesnt have to be a twist lock just a 6-50r not an L6-50r. I wondering if this welder was originally hardwired to a jb or disconnect? Can you by chance share the model number and the miller name of your welder? for instance... millermatic 250...thunderbolt 200 whatever they call it?
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 07:30 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 500
Default

input voltage/size?


Stubbie..what is the difference between L6-50r and 6-50r just out of curiosity? Here is a link to the welder http://www.millerwelds.com/products/...xmt_304_cc_cv/
Hopefully this helps. I think it was wired to a disconnect but i would like a plug now since my outlet is going to be close to the breaker box the breaker will be the means of disconnect right? Also with a plug i can disconnect it for storage. Thanks again for your knowledge.
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 08:05 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,041
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

input voltage/size?


The L means it is a locking style receptacle which is fine if thats what you want. Thanks for the link...it actually is 47 amps input at the rated output amperage. So a 50 amp receptacle is what you want the locking one or the non-locking one is fine. Off the top of my head I'm not sure they make a 50 amp locking type. You might google 'nema locking blade configuration chart' and find out. You will be looking for a 2 wire grounding type 250 volt.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 09:26 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 500
Default

input voltage/size?


Thanks stubbie...No locking 50amp plugs. I thought it would be nice to have a locking one but i guess the straight blade will do. That should be it for this one! Thanks again stubbie.

ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Some Input jbandamy Building & Construction 8 07-04-2007 05:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.