Industrial Motor Circuit - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2012, 10:54 AM   #16
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

industrial motor circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Rob,

I disagree. The motor brach circuit conductors have to be sized at 125% of the motor FLA using Table 430.250.

361 x 125% = 451.25A

700 KCMIL THHN CU (rated 460A) per conductor if three are used.

250 KCMIL THHN CU x 2 per phase if two sets of paralleled (6 conductors in one conduit).

250 KCMIL THHN CU are rated 290A x 2 = 580A x 80% = 464A
You are correct.

In all the motor calculations I've done, this time I failed to include the 125%.

Advertisement

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
electures (09-18-2012)
Old 09-18-2012, 01:05 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

industrial motor circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
You are correct.

In all the motor calculations I've done, this time I failed to include the 125%.
Its okay. No one is perfect. No one.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
electures (09-18-2012)
Old 09-19-2012, 04:10 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

industrial motor circuit


The compressor has a controller panel with a softstart installed. Does this change any of the parameters?
scott.cameron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:01 PM   #19
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

industrial motor circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by scott.cameron
The compressor has a controller panel with a softstart installed. Does this change any of the parameters?
No. All good.

Advertisement

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Industrial Window Shade dcase84 Interior Decorating 5 09-04-2012 11:41 PM
Flat Industrial Roof timsb Roofing/Siding 4 06-05-2012 12:37 PM
two industrial ceiling fans on one switch arusillon Electrical 4 01-17-2012 05:57 PM
Tiling on industrial steel don57 General DIY Discussions 3 10-18-2010 11:26 PM
Industrial Designer johall Introductions 2 05-08-2009 01:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts