Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 11:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

induction cooktop wiring requirements


Hi to all,

Need to compare wiring needs for ceran electric cooktop versus induction cooktop which may need heavier duty power, have under benchtop oven already on higher amp wire plugged in but want to ensure correct highest power for induction and oven running at the same time. May have to upgrade circuit breaker in box as no more space for further breakers. Thank you for any advice.

Busyas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:59 AM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

induction cooktop wiring requirements


Most induction cooktops use less power than regular cooktops, or at most the same power. You would need to look at the actual specifications for the cooktop you are buying to know for sure if your existing wiring is adequate.

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:04 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Default

induction cooktop wiring requirements


Thank you for your reply, still not sure if we should get the ceran electric or the induction cooktop, as we will not replace with a gas again.
Busyas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:38 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Festus, MO
Posts: 39
Default

induction cooktop wiring requirements


You will need an additional circuit for the cooktop. You can not share the circuit you have the oven connected to.
cube17576 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 01:46 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

induction cooktop wiring requirements


I didn't pick up on the details here: You had an electric oven with a gas cooktop, and want to replace the cooktop with electric by adding it to the oven circuit? You can't do that. You will need a separate circuit for the electric cooktop, no matter what type you choose. There are solutions to add circuits even if your panel is full. You may be able to use tandem or quad breakers, combine some small circuits to make room, or install a subpanel.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric cooktop wiring issues kbrookst Electrical 17 04-13-2012 01:36 PM
Freestanding range to cooktop + oven combo. Lots of data (kw, wiring, etc) made2last Electrical 12 04-07-2012 12:19 AM
240V 50HZ Induction Cooktop wiring in US NoelRC Electrical 4 02-17-2012 02:48 AM
Kitchen Wiring Requirements SS396 Electrical 24 02-07-2011 10:00 AM
Cooktop wiring code epudimott Electrical 3 07-19-2008 11:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.