Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2013, 06:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Increase size of main breaker


Good Afternoon!
 
I am rehab'ing my California townhouse that was built about 33 years ago. It has a main disconnect panel outside rated 125A. A 70A two-pole main breaker is installed, and is connected to a 125A panel inside via #1 AWG AL feeders. All house circuits originate from this inside panel.
 
I loaded up one pole with about 94 Amp of load current (based on max. power specs for each appliance), including A/C condenser, space heater, washer, vaccuum, mixmaster, toaster oven, microwave, drill, blender and a dozen lights.
 
I expected the main 70A breaker to blow, but nothing happened. The breaker did not even get warm.
 
How long should it take for an overload (more than 10% of breaker rating) to trip a breaker?
 
Is it likely that I was using much less that the max. rated currrent on each appliance? Any suggestions for an AC clamp-type current meter?
 
I would like to replace the 70A breaker with a 100A breaker. I have worked with Aluminum wiring before and would use NOALOX.
 
Will #1 AWG AL support 100A entrance service? Section and Table 310.15(B)(6) in the 2010 Code appear to allow this.
 
The local poco said they would come out and unlock things so that I can pull the cover and perform this "repair".
 
Thanks for your comments and suggestions.
LynnX

LynnX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:50 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,594
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Increase size of main breaker


Breaker trip curves vary based on the amount of overload and the time taken to get to overload. A typical breaker will hold 125% for around 2 hours.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
LynnX (01-09-2013)
Old 01-09-2013, 07:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Increase size of main breaker


Is it a "Federal Pacific" panel?
sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Increase size of main breaker


#1 AL will support 110 amps in a service. I own an Amprobe clamp-on ammeter and it's just fine. If you are planning on doing a lot of work spend the money on a good meter. If it's just an occasional thing for you some are available for as little as $25. If it's service wires you intend to meter make sure the clamps are large enough to get you in the panel since you won't be pulling the wires out too easily in some installations.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
LynnX (01-09-2013)
Old 01-09-2013, 08:11 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Increase size of main breaker


sgip2000,

No, not Federal Pacific, but both panels are GTE Sylvania.
Thanks.

I will get to have a look inside the main panel tomorrow.
LynnX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:52 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Increase size of main breaker


I have been reading about problems with Federal Pacific and Zinsco/Sylvania equipment. I do not know if these apply to my panels.

I think I will pull all the breakers, inspect the points of contact, clean and NOALUX them. Or come up with a plan "B" if there has been overheating.

Connecticut Electric makes Zinsco-compatible breakers that are almost identical (physically) to GTE/Sylvania breakers. These are available at Home Depot and at Amazon. Is there a significant difference between "UL-approved" and "Conforms to UL Standard 489"?
LynnX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 07:16 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Increase size of main breaker


If you are going to be doing a lot of DIY work in the future I would look at fluke meters they make a variety of nice meters.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size breaker and wire ? baddley Electrical 6 02-15-2011 11:12 AM
Main Breaker goes off.... spiral Electrical 6 01-01-2011 07:18 PM
Changing breaker in box with no main breaker jrucker Electrical 3 02-16-2010 12:46 PM
Load Center Replacement - with or w/o main breaker? shepiii Electrical 3 01-30-2009 11:04 AM
Main house breaker keeps tripping cosmicmah Electrical 20 01-22-2008 12:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.