Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2008, 05:09 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Share |
Default

Increase to double gang boxes...


Quote:
they shall pass through the interior within 1/4 in. of the back of the enclosure.
So run the screws deep in the corner and you're good. You will have to pre drill the holes because the box mounting screws won't want to grab at that angle. It's easier to put them about an inch deep though.


I don't know where I got the not come in contact thing. Must have been a dream

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 08:09 AM   #17
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Increase to double gang boxes...


Thanks everyone for all the tips, I will hopefully try putting one in, in the new several days.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 11:02 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 104
Default

Increase to double gang boxes...


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post

I can't believe anyone uses push-in's.

Jamie
I keep finding that the builder of my house used the push ins... sigh.
Bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 11:31 AM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Default

Increase to double gang boxes...


Take a look at Arlington "One Box"
http://www.aifittings.com/whnew78.htm
hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 11:39 AM   #20
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Default

Increase to double gang boxes...


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp58 View Post
Take a look at Arlington "One Box"
http://www.aifittings.com/whnew78.htm
Cool box.. But those screws don't look to be 1/4" from the back..
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 12:21 PM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Default

Increase to double gang boxes...


Box is Listed.
I havent had a problem yet, passed all inspections.

hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double gang outlet box TaazKareem Electrical 3 09-29-2008 10:00 PM
Can I double wire and increase amperage capacity? YerDugliness Electrical 24 08-22-2008 05:45 PM
wiring outlet boxes, steel or plastic? DangerMouse Electrical 17 07-20-2008 12:05 PM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 02:44 PM
Gangable old work boxes kornbln Electrical 2 05-27-2008 05:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.