Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2008, 03:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Incandescent and fluorescent together


Hi,

I was just cleaning the basement and found I have 3 incandescent cans laying around and thought I'd install them to give me more light in the basement. The circuit I want to hook them to (because of the switch) has one hard wired and two plug in (to outlets) fluorescent lamps.

My question is, is it ok to install incandescent and fluorescent fixtures on the same circuit?

Thanks, Bill

Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 03:39 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Incandescent and fluorescent together


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bill View Post
Hi,

I was just cleaning the basement and found I have 3 incandescent cans laying around and thought I'd install them to give me more light in the basement. The circuit I want to hook them to (because of the switch) has one hard wired and two plug in (to outlets) fluorescent lamps.

My question is, is it ok to install incandescent and fluorescent fixtures on the same circuit?

Thanks, Bill
Not a problem

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 04:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Incandescent and fluorescent together


Thanks dSilanskas,

One more question....

It should be OK to run the feed for those cans from an outlet? There is an outlet at the end of the run, so I was going to attach the feed for the cans to the 'open' terminals on that outlet. Or do I have to remove the outlet and just that box as a junction box?


Thanks again, Bill

l
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 04:40 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Incandescent and fluorescent together


you can use that circuit if you want. I hesitate to put lighting on a general power circuit. If the circuit were overloaded by some use, it would put you in the dark.

If you use this circuit, I also would not run it through the recep. Pigtail out the wires. In some cases it would be illegal but aside from that, it is just better practice.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 05:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Incandescent and fluorescent together


Thanks nap,

The outlet was installed so the 'plug in' fluorescent (the kind you get at HD) could be installed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
Pigtail out the wires. In some cases it would be illegal but aside from that, it is just better practice.
I don't want to break any code.

Why would it might be illegal? Isn't pigtailed outlets better? If one outlet goes out, the others still work.

Thanks Bill
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 05:31 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Incandescent and fluorescent together


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bill View Post
Thanks nap,

The outlet was installed so the 'plug in' fluorescent (the kind you get at HD) could be installed.



I don't want to break any code.

Why would it might be illegal? Isn't pigtailed outlets better? If one outlet goes out, the others still work.

Thanks Bill
are you plugging in a luminaire` (that is code speak for lighting fixture)? or hardwiring it?

I'm really trying to think of the sitatuation where fedding the power through the recep is against code. I can't seem to think of it other than the possibility of on a multiwire branch circuit where 2 hots use one neutral cannot depend on a device for the connection so pigtailing is a must.

Pigtailing is just better (IMO). Personally I never feed through a recep.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 05:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Incandescent and fluorescent together


Thanks for explaining nap,



Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
are you plugging in a luminaire` (that is code speak for lighting fixture)? or hardwiring it?
Hardwiring it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
..... the possibility of on a multiwire branch circuit where 2 hots use one neutral cannot depend on a device for the connection so pigtailing is a must.
Nothing like that. All the branch circuits are the same as the feed. 12/2, nothing that complicated ....

As long as connecting incandescent and fluorescent fixtures on the same circuit is cool, then I'll just remove the outlet from the circuit.


Thanks, Bill

Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen outlet/switch dillemma? Need help troubleshooting lyonrt Electrical 6 02-13-2008 09:18 AM
Compact Fluorescent Lighting? kcrossley2 Electrical 2 07-23-2007 10:18 PM
New recessed light is killing bulbs nebben Electrical 2 02-03-2007 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.